Page 1 of 2 1 2
first saltwater trip - need advice #2239283 05/06/08 03:54 PM
B
bdog1234 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
B
I have been boating and fishing freshwater for 20 years. I have never done much saltwater fishing. Actually I went for my first time last month near Galveston. I had a great time.

My current boat is a 22 foot bay boat. I bought it because I like the style of it but it has never been in saltwater. I am thinking of making a trip to the coast this week to fish as work is slow right now.

I don't really have a clue what I am doing or where to go. I don't care about trophy fish or even keeper fish. Just want to get out there with the wife and catch fish and have a good time.
An recommendations for a total saltwater newbie?

Re: first saltwater trip - need advice [Re: bdog1234] #2240148 05/06/08 06:53 PM
M
Michial Thompson Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
M
bdog;

"Fresh water is your friend." Every time you pull the boat make sure you rinse it well, especially the motor.

As far as fishing, just buy some mullet, cut each into three pieces and put it on a 9/0 or 10/0 or bigger hook and cast drop it below the boat and wait....

Use a good steel leader, or heavy (200#+ mono) leader...

When you get it back home, take it to a fresh water lake and run it for 20-30 minutes around the lake to help flush everything out.

Last edited by Michial Thompson; 05/06/08 06:54 PM.
Re: first saltwater trip - need advice [Re: Michial Thompson] #2240528 05/06/08 08:48 PM
N
Notch Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
N
What Michial said!!!!!!! Also, read the posts on here for using different types of bait(jig with Gulp(new penny)shrimp) etc. In fact, I think Michial gave a good tip on using several different artificial baits/lures on another post not long back.

Re: first saltwater trip - need advice [Re: Michial Thompson] #2240531 05/06/08 08:49 PM
B
bdog1234 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
B
Thanks for the reply.