Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
I just can't help it #14603706 01/21/23 01:47 PM
Catfish Tim Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
Y'all I think we need a catfishermans anonymise, or maybe it's just me...

So I've been putting together a plan to start producing video content on the boat again. I have been studying and studying how to make this work. For those of you that do it, I have a great deal of respect for you. You make it look easy and it's not. I confess that I am doubly cursed as I am a catfisherman and an engineer by trade. So I approach things like this from a decidedly technical perspective. I work in a field where I have been refining an automation process for almost 40 years now and when I think about how I want this to work, for me I want to focus on fishing. I want the video capture process to be automated and run in the background without any intervention from me. I don't want to miss things because batteries need changed or SD cards are full. And, more importantly, I don't want my focus on fishing to be compromised by having to fuss with the cameras.

What to do, what to do...

Well, as usual, I jumped in with both feet... To start with I studied cameras. I would like to have the new GOPro 10s or 11s or 25s, lol, whatever the newest one is. They seem to advance faster than iPhones. However, I am not in the realm yet where I think I need $900 cameras. Maybe when the content gets better I will upgrade but for now, I have a GoPro wanna be that seems to do what I want it to. I also have a small handycam for my other one and a DSLR for my B roll footage. My phone also does a good job for my B roll stuff.