Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Planer board minutia #14480865 09/18/22 11:25 AM
Catfish Tim Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
PSA: This thread is gonna get down in the weeds...

So I have been using Parks planer boards for a few years now. I like them, a lot. They do what they say, they are very reasonably priced and I have gotten to the point that they are an everyday tool for chasin blue cats.

Now, I have been on guide trips and used Spread 'em planer boards. There really isn't a lot of difference in the boards themselves. The post is a little different but the board itself is basically the same.

Where I see a difference is in the clips. And I think it's a significant difference...

The back clip on the Parks is a simple snap. Not too hard to operate. You can get it off quickly when you need to, if the board isn't pulled lose of the front clip. If it has, the snap is big enough to slid over the terminal tackle on the main line and that can be a problem. On the Spread'em boards, the back clip is a speed clip. It isn't even really a clip. It just slides over the line. Easy release and it won't slide over your terminal tackle. See link below.

https://a.co/d/5G1iTI1

The front clip is where I started thinking about replacing my boards. The front clip on the Parks boards is like a lot of others. It is just a simple spring tension clip. That means it will pull lose with a quick tug of the line. Making it a little easier to reel in without the drag of the planer. Where this gets to be a problem is when you snag. If you break off, the board will float lose and you have to either reel up everything to go get it or risk losing it by waiting until you end your drift. The Spread'em clips don't work like that. They stay intact and will not pull off if you break off. That is, IMHO, a reason to use the Spread'em boards.

https://a.co/d/hd6QupH