texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Sullyfam, pctxlipripper, JDHarris, Easttexasfishin, cshamblin
117802 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 112,039
hopalong 109,954
Bigbob_FTW 85,661
John175☮ 83,662
Pilothawk 82,588
Derek 🐝 67,922
Mark Perry 67,743
JDavis7873 67,414
Bob Davis 63,734
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics1,149,225
Posts15,690,121
Members142,802
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
MegaLive Issues #14358925 05/03/22 07:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 238
L
LakeTylerMan Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 238
I wanted to explain a problem with MegaLive and perhaps Humminbird. I selected a Humminbird (Helix G3N Mega DI) for use with Mega360. And it worked beautifully along with Mega DI and sonar. When I found out all I had to do was to update software and plug in MegaLive I went ahead and ordered the ML transducer. At first it worked more or less OK but MegaLive would just disconnect randomly. I was instructed by HB to make sure voltage was above 12 volts so I purchased and installed in my rod box a lithium battery for HB use. Recently MegaLive would take the usual time to boot up and then would at some point always freeze the screen dead so that I could not change views or even turn off. Humminbird instructed that I upload ML version 1.15 which I did. It booted up one time and functioned and then I shut off the unit. Now when I turn the unit on ML does not connect to the unit. And upon system boot up only Mega360 works. If I go to the reset to defaults selections I then get down imaging and sonar but Mega 360 no longer works.
Upon calling Humminbird, the tech said this is a problem they've not seen. And for now I have a unit that never connects to MegaLive and sometimes boots up Mega 360 and down imaging and sonar but neither is accessible at the same time.
I have over 5 grand in this system so obviously I want it to work. For now MegaLive is just an ornament on my trolling motor.
Humminbird has turned this over to the experts and I hope I get some sort of response. Garmin is looking pretty good to me right now.

Re: MegaLive Issues [Re: LakeTylerMan] #14359547 05/04/22 01:19 PM
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
T
TexomaSonar Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
T
Joined: Mar 2015
Posts: 6
It sounds like your Helix is more or less getting confused on which transducer it wants to run. If you unplug 360 or ML will the other run? Also what voltage are you getting up at your Helix?

Re: MegaLive Issues [Re: LakeTylerMan] #14381420 05/31/22 03:40 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 178
A
Amistad Tackle Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
A
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 178
I have had the same problem multiple times and it was very aggravating the first time it happened. The only solution I have come up with is to shut the power down to the entire network using the disconnect at the battery. Restore power and then reboot (turn on) everything and the Live will be recognized again. Doing the reinstall defaults only make you mad as you have to reset all your settings. This is likely a software issue, and hopefully HB will get it fixed in the next update.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3