Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Drop Shot hook tie [Re: ReelSlow] #14357799 05/02/22 02:24 PM
Ken A. Offline
Groovy
Groovy
Originally Posted by ReelSlow
Originally Posted by Douglas J
Palomar and run your tag through the eye of the hook is a lot simpler.

This a weekend warrior who is an engineer kind of over thinking a simple thing type of deal grin

Well you nailed me right there. I am a retired Engineer but a weekday warrior thankfully.

In have a real hard time doubling the line and pushing it through a hook eye. I tie a uni knot all other applications and don't suffer from knot failures. I could run the line through and double back again, and have done that many times, but the uni works for me and is easier and I like easier. I tried the knot im asking about and I myself can tie it much easier, so if I were to get confirmation from others that it works well without failures , well....that would be a good thing for me.
confused 3

You don't need to reinvent the wheel. When I was a kid fishing off the bank I used this same rig to fish for catfish & carp.

Don't double the line and try to push it thru the tiny hook eye. Go thru the eye and pull about 18" of line thru. Now push the line back thru the eye the other direction. You have now effectively doubled the line thru the hookeye. Tie the palomar knot and go fishing.

We have complicated the dropshot rig to include braid to fluoro leader knots, special hooks, special weights, technique specific rods & reels, etc. Its a bottom fishing catfish rig. Pure & simple.

Last edited by Ken A.; 05/02/22 02:24 PM.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Drop Shot hook tie [Re: Ken A.] #14357839 05/02/22 03:03 PM
D
David Burton Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
D
Originally Posted by Ken A.

This a weekend warrior who is an engineer kind of over thinking a simple thing type of deal grin