texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JohnBo74, SimilarWeather, susie143, GoneFishingTx, jwalker497
116110 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 105,124
hopalong 101,088
Pilothawk 81,444
John175☮ 80,348
Bigbob_FTW 77,443
JDavis7873 67,408
Derek 🐝 67,160
Mark Perry 64,474
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,160,025
Posts15,867,688
Members141,110
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Point-1 Issues #14173279 10/27/21 09:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
W
Wormin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
I recently installed a point-1 for my HDS Gen 3 and I cannot figure out how to get the heading sensor to work. After many reads on multiple forums, I think I have narrowed down the issue. Does anyone know why "Vessel" is not showing up on my data sources? Both of my units are up to date and both do not show "vessel" which is where the heading sensor settings are located. Pic is below.

[Linked Image]

Last edited by Wormin; 10/27/21 09:28 PM.
Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14173400 10/27/21 11:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,039
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,039
Let’s back up here. Did you install a full nmea system? With the fuse and a power switch, T’s and terminators?

Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14173510 10/28/21 01:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
W
Wormin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
I did, but I figured out my NMEA is not be correct because I only used one terminal. Ordered another T and terminal to try and get that part worked out. Hopefully that fixed it. I’ll post my findings once I get the NMEA network fixed.

Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14175740 10/30/21 02:54 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
W
Wormin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Alright, I am still having issues after correcting my NMEA network. Here is a diagram of the network. Both HDS units still do not show Vessel. Any ideas?

[Linked Image]

Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14175745 10/30/21 03:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,039
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,039
Did you power the nmea straight to a battery, needs a switch to turn it off & on. Just making sure you didn’t power it through the graphs nmea wires. Have a fuse and it’s good?


Also, using the all black fittings or did you use the red ones?

Last edited by grout-scout; 10/30/21 03:09 AM.
Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14175764 10/30/21 04:01 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
W
Wormin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
I tied into the power under the console terminal block which has a breaker at the battery. The original power that came with my kit had a female power which didn't work. I bought a new power T today at bass pro which looks like the below picture. I added a fuse to this prior to installing.

[Linked Image]

Last edited by Wormin; 10/30/21 04:03 AM.
Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14175841 10/30/21 11:40 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,039
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,039
About the only thing I can think to try now, is to make sure all the fittings are snug and properly aligned. Sounds like a “duh” statement, but I know Garmins nmea and lowrances nmea have different angles that the fittings fit together at. Your diagram looks correct above though from what I remember.

Only other possible issue, could be the point1 itself. Could be bad or if it’s used, there were some made that only had the GPS receiver capabilities. Meaning that they could not be used for a heading sensor. I don’t know if a call to Lowrance, while holding the point1 in your hand could answer that.



Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14176254 10/30/21 09:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 112
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 112
If you go to the Device List Does it show the Point 1 do you have any other NMEA devices on your Boat and do they show up on the device list? If not you still have back bone issues related to power which could be a bad cable or connection. When I run into this I have a spare Starter Kit and I run the cables accross the deck of the boat and try to disconnect one at a time and replace with the starter kit cable till I find the bad one.


Lowrance On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S] #14176463 10/31/21 02:56 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
W
Wormin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Larry,

Point 1 does show up in device list. I can go to satellites under system settings and the point 1 shows it connecting to many of them with a accuracy of 11ft.

Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14176467 10/31/21 03:00 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
W
Wormin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
grout-scout, I really appreciate your input on this. Thank you. All connections were checked. After reviewing the below forum post, I believe that my point 1 is bad. Btw, this is a brand new point 1. I will follow up with Lowrance.

Point1 Issues

Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14176511 10/31/21 06:23 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 112
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 112
What Software version is on your Point 1?


Lowrance On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14178330 11/01/21 09:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
W
Wormin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Software Ver - 1.6.00.00

Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14178421 11/01/21 10:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 112
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 112
This may explain your issue. The latest update for a Point 1 is V1.4 , I suspect you don't have a point 1 you are dealing with. So I will look around and see what has a 1.6 ver.

Also the latest version of the point1/ 1.4 they have changed the software to turn on or off heading sensor by putting a 1 in the instance setting to turn ON the Heading sensor. You might check your instance for your point 1 and if its set to zero change it to 1 and see if it turns it on and your vessel comes on. You may have to reboot your nmea network first.

Last edited by Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S; 11/01/21 11:08 PM.

Lowrance On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14179653 11/03/21 01:43 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
W
Wormin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 135
Pics below. Instance is 000. I will try and change it to 001 and see if that works.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Re: Point-1 Issues [Re: Wormin] #14179711 11/03/21 02:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,039
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 11,039
Man this is odd, where did you buy the point1? I tried to browse for some with that 1.6 software and couldn’t find anything. I’m intrigued by this situation.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2021 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3