Print Thread
Newb question - common fish is a good bait fish? #14056518 07/09/21 01:39 AM
S
SaltySAnewb Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
S
I'm a total newb but loved the trip. I am planning on making surf fishing / pier fishing and later kayak fishing my main hobby. I'll appreciate any advice or question answers people are willing to share.

On Tuesday I took my 15 year old son on our 1st try fishing off a pier in Corpus We used 4 oz sinkers and caught 7 hardheads we avoided touching and threw back. We used artificial bait cause it was late but we also caught several of these fish,.so I assume it's super common. . (Picture will be attached)

Q1) These are only four inches. Are they good bait for reds and speckled trout? If so, you just cut them into small pieces? Can you just expose the barn and cast it, or is that naughty or not effective? Is there a rule of thumb of what makes good baitfish, or is shrimp.just better?

We spent hours buying gear and fished in the rain, so I thought maybe fishing deep would be good but was probably not the best. I didn't see a single real fish get caught but everyone else fished the surface. I'm guessing thats a better approach to avoid all the catfish lol.

Thanks for reading! I'm trying to read the other posts to avoid asking the same old stuff. We are looking to try surf fishing next week. No worries if it's not fun to answer questions for someone this green. I'll keep trying and they might be better posts later lol.

Attached Files Screenshot_20210708-201852.png
Re: Newb question - common fish is a good bait fish? [Re: SaltySAnewb] #14056862 07/09/21 03:00 PM
TOO Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
Fish is Atlantic croaker, most common baitfish used by guides late spring & summer for trout. Reds also eat them as do other species. 4 inch perfect size for bait. Fish it live, hooked above the lateral line behind dorsal fin.