Print Thread
Wading boots (stingrays) and bait buckets #14056781 07/09/21 01:41 PM
R
rulellis Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
R
I am new to Houston, moved here from Indiana 3 weeks ago and ready to try some wade fishing, but I want to get everything I need first. I have two things I am trying to figure out:

1. What shoes do you all wear wade fishing? What is comfortable to wear and offers good protection? Also, do you wear something to protect your legs? I've read several posts on stingrays, and want to make sure I am safe if boots as such are necessary.

2. When wade fishing how do you bring your live bait with you and keep it alive? If I am out wading a shore line, roaming around, will a normal cheap drag bait bucket work if it is not insulated and aerorated? Or, will all the bait die from the heat and lack of oxygen? I see the big bait buckets you can leave on shore, but how do you do it wading out without coming back to shore every time you need new bait?

Thank you for reading and assisting.

Re: Wading boots (stingrays) and bait buckets [Re: rulellis] #14056881 07/09/21 03:11 PM
P
Pat Goff Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
P
I wear a pair of hodgman boots just under the knee. Rayguard makes some too, not as easy to walk in, but acceptable. If you wear jeans, any of the zip up wading boots will work also. Whatever you choose, they have to be secure, poot mud will suck something loose right off your foot.

Use a LONG stringer, 15'. And make sure you can get it off you in a hurry.

No advice on bait buckets, we don't use bait.

[Linked Image]

Pat Goff
Seadrift TX
[Linked Image]
Re: Wading boots (stingrays) and bait buckets [Re: rulellis] #14056979 07/09/21 04:23 PM
C
COFF Offline
TFF Guru
TFF Guru
C