texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
gstockard, Trevor Heath, lotsapanfish, soljah, dewie&doc
117275 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 109,211
hopalong 106,365
Bigbob_FTW 82,158
Pilothawk 82,082
John175☮ 81,815
Derek 🐝 67,699
JDavis7873 67,408
Mark Perry 66,025
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,140,486
Posts15,540,420
Members142,275
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Garmin Force Setup #14038333 06/20/21 11:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 283
H
Hulapoppin Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
H
Joined: Jul 2020
Posts: 283
I’m picking up my new trolling motor tomorrow and will install it myself. I’m not a technology guy and hate to read a bunch of directions. Once installed and ready to go are there any hard Do’s or Dont’s at initial setup? I’ve read that a lot of people have problems with this TM going in reverse for 10 to 20 feet when spot locking and then going forward to original spot lock location. Wondering if they did something wrong during setup.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Garmin Force Setup [Re: Hulapoppin] #14038672 06/21/21 12:21 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 394
M
MikeW07 Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
M
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 394
Wouldn't say it was hard to set up but what took some doing was calibrating the remote - kind of sensitive on some of the directions - I have found that if you are moving and then hit the spot lock it will back up some but if you are already stationary it doesn't do that so seems like the GPS is just a few feet behind when it does that.

Re: Garmin Force Setup [Re: Hulapoppin] #14038675 06/21/21 12:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,233
pacertom Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,233
Calibrate the compass for the spot lock to work....thats it, 2 circles and remote in calibration mode.

Youtube has plenty of videos on it....very easy, even for a non tech person.


A MAN WILL NEVER GO TO HIS GRAVE WISHING HE'D FISHED LESS!!
Re: Garmin Force Setup [Re: Hulapoppin] #14038900 06/21/21 03:45 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,909
C
coachallentca Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
C
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,909
to calibrate it I laid the remote of the boat and did it..

I did not install mine.. I took it to shut up and fish so I made sure it was done right.

I have had mine out once and it was a beast.



Re: Garmin Force Setup [Re: Hulapoppin] #14038905 06/21/21 03:48 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 394
M
MikeW07 Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
M
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 394
I had the same issue on the calibrate where you have to turn the remote over a couple of times - trying to hold it kept getting an error so did the same thing - laid it on the deck and worked 1st time.

Re: Garmin Force Setup [Re: Hulapoppin] #14038936 06/21/21 04:07 PM
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 43
C
C-ROW Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
C
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 43
When calibrating try and find calmest water you can. I thought this was just a suggestion but the second calibration worked much better!

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3