texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
TroyRobert, BGentry85, WaterChap, VandenBrand, jtexan7676
117433 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 109,983
hopalong 107,105
Bigbob_FTW 83,140
John175☮ 82,294
Pilothawk 82,239
Derek 🐝 67,772
JDavis7873 67,408
Mark Perry 66,550
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,143,161
Posts15,585,344
Members142,433
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
HDS 7 unit looses depth when on a plane #14037657 06/20/21 02:25 AM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
J
JILAS Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
J
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 70
A friend has 22' saltwater boat with Lowrance HDS 7" unit on center console. Transducer is mounted in sump. I grabbed transducer and it is very securely "epoxy/glued" down. Any guess why HDS 7 unit looses depth when on a plane?

Re: HDS 7 unit looses depth when on a plane [Re: JILAS] #14037871 06/20/21 01:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 8,548
tmd11111 Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 8,548
Air (turbulent water) passing over the hull where the transducer is located.

Re: HDS 7 unit looses depth when on a plane [Re: JILAS] #14037958 06/20/21 02:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 1,999
D
Dogfish_Jones Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 1,999
I have a through hull transducer mounted about 1’ from the back of my boat in the center of my hull. It is on a 3 degree slant on the hull well within the allotted 8-10 degrees. After I get on plane and reach 20mph, I loose my depth. It sure isn’t because it’s not in the water. It’s not because a rib is affecting the water.
I’ve given up trying to keep depth on my boat. I’ve used the transom mount, in hull mount and the through hull transducer all without showing depth above 25mph.
The best one so far has been the transom mount one, it might on a good day show depth at 30 mph while on plane.


2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: HDS 7 unit looses depth when on a plane [Re: JILAS] #14038443 06/21/21 01:24 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 233
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 233
Their is only one reason that a transducer looses bottom at speed. It is getting air underneath the transducer and sonar cannot read in air. Is this issue new or been like this from the beginning or has it ever worked? When installed did you test it before gluing it down?


Lowrance On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: HDS 7 unit looses depth when on a plane [Re: JILAS] #14049820 07/02/21 11:26 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,900
D
DAN-O Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
D
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,900
Should be able to get sonar, but not side or down imaging while on pad. Speeds have to be slow for those to read. Put you screen on 3 options…sonar, down, and side image views simultaneously.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3