texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Prez9475, Randyfish, 10v3cr4ft, TXB4, LoveringDDS
115361 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 102,334
hopalong 96,988
Pilothawk 80,879
John175☮ 79,121
Bigbob_FTW 73,839
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,621
Mark Perry 62,854
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,149,038
Posts15,708,740
Members140,361
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Garmin 1222 unit #14016937 06/01/21 01:06 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 447
N
n_fish Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
N
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 447
I’m looking at a keyed non-touch unit that will be solely used for Livescope. It will be mounted at the bow with another unit for mapping,sonar,etc. I’d like to hear from anyone that is using this unit and it’s pro’s & con’s. Is it worth the additional $$$ to purchase the “touch” model of this same unit? Let’s hear it and thanks in advance.

Re: Garmin 1222 unit [Re: n_fish] #14018421 06/02/21 01:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,052
L
LittleGazoo Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
L
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,052
I'm running the Garmin 1222(button) + Livescope GVS32 and find it works excellent.

Since I also use the 1222 for Livescope only, I find it operations simple once you navigate thru the setup menus.

95% of the on-the-water operation with the 1222 is controlled by the rotary knob. Press the rotary knob to cycle thru Livescope settings(Range, Depth, etc), then rotate to adjust.

Re: Garmin 1222 unit [Re: n_fish] #14018623 06/02/21 05:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,282
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,282
I have the 122 ultra touch model. It’s very specific touch sensitive and the menu is really close to the adjustment spots. Not sure how much more the ultra cost over the non-touch, but if you only have LS, you might save the money. The latest update for the ultra helped some, but I still find myself hitting the menu setting, while trying to adjust the ranges.

But, if you ever plan on networking graphs, you have to have all the graphs be the same series’s. In other words you can’t mix a 1222 with a 122 and have it network. Has to be an ultra with an ultra or gps map to gps map, etc.

Re: Garmin 1222 unit [Re: grout-scout] #14020367 06/04/21 02:29 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 447
N
n_fish Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
N
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 447
Thanks for the info.

Re: Garmin 1222 unit [Re: n_fish] #14024037 06/07/21 11:04 PM
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 11,910
D
Douglas J Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
D
Joined: Jun 2012
Posts: 11,910
Shannon I am running the 1222 GPS/map non touch


“Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety."

Benjamin Franklin
Re: Garmin 1222 unit [Re: Douglas J] #14024203 06/08/21 01:25 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 447
N
n_fish Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
N
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 447
Thanks Doug, I’ve got a 126SV on my Tracker and love it. The tracker is going with my son to college in August so I’ll be getting another boat and looking at some other Garmin options.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3