texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
10132vigilante, Tiaganna, remington670, bassinb, LouC
115397 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 102,490
hopalong 97,149
Pilothawk 80,887
John175☮ 79,165
Bigbob_FTW 73,977
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,651
Mark Perry 62,881
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,149,585
Posts15,716,161
Members140,397
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance 12 graphs #14016000 05/31/21 02:04 AM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 734
C
champRD Online Content OP
Pro Angler
OP Online Content
Pro Angler
C
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 734
Can someone please explain the main difference in the lowrance 12 ti2 elite vs the hds live 12 ? Looking at adding one at bow and console and wanted to see if the ti2 at the console would be compatible with the live up front. Also I will be adding live target. Thanks in advance.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: champRD] #14016031 05/31/21 02:45 AM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 26,665
Der Vorsteher Online Shocked
TFF Guru
Online Shocked
TFF Guru
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 26,665
They are exactly the same except that the ti2 don't link up and share way points if I understand correctly.


Team Wolfs
Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: champRD] #14016057 05/31/21 03:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,308
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,308
Ti2 only has wireless connection, cannot use Ethernet cables and the Lives & active target require (use) Ethernet cables.
You have ZERO way to use your existing Ti2 with Active Target or another Live.


You can get the new FS for the Active Target (only comes in 7” & 9” screens), but they only have 1 Ethernet port.

If you want full networking and an Active Target, you’ll need all Live models and that’s $$$.

Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: champRD] #14016088 05/31/21 03:48 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 3,450
L
leethefishking Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
L
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 3,450
Active target works with Carbons. BPS has 12’s on sale for $1499.00. Incredible deal.

Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: leethefishking] #14016106 05/31/21 04:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,308
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,308
Originally Posted by leethefishking
Active target works with Carbons. BPS has 12’s on sale for $1499.00. Incredible deal.




That indeed is!

Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: champRD] #14016112 05/31/21 04:38 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 931
Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 931
FYI-there is an electronics forum near the bottom of all the Forums that would help obtain quicker/accurate information versus using the Bass Fishing forum for this topic.

The Elite Ti family including the Ti2 is not an HDS unit like the LIVE. Operations are very close to the same, but the Ti series does not have Ethernet, however it does have NMEA. NMEA will allow one way-point at a time to be shared between units. The new Active Target transducer requires Ethernet and will not work with the Elite Ti or Ti2 units. HDS - LIVE & CARBON and the Gen-Touch models all have Ethernet (however only the Carbon & LIVE are Active Target capable). Ethernet allows to share transducer data/images between HDS units (keep in mind some structure scan ducers will not work with all HDS units due to technology and software). Ethernet will transfer massive amount of waypoints between units connected together.

HDS has two ports for transducers which will allow you to connect a 2D Sonar transducer and mount it to provide sonar at high speeds (like shoot through hull sonar ducers). The Elite series only has one port for a transducer. The Ti2 will work with the latest Active Imaging 3-1 and would tie up the only transducer port on the Ti unit.

The Ti series has a good glass (screen), the Carbon has a better screen and the LIVE has the most expensive screen (brighter from any angle) than any unit on the market today. Hope this helps. Feel free to PM me if you would like to have a conversation.


Rob Jasper
Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: champRD] #14016143 05/31/21 08:37 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,856
M
mudd Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
M
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,856
Carbon has 2 processors

Live has 4 processors

TI2 has 1 I think?


93 Ranger 482vs
95 Bullet 20cc


Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: champRD] #14016145 05/31/21 08:58 AM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 548
Larry Mosby Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 548
Ti2 can’t be paired through the Ethernet, screens are like the gen2 HDS units and harder to see especially with your sunglasses on.


Larry Mosby
Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: champRD] #14016301 05/31/21 01:42 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 734
C
champRD Online Content OP
Pro Angler
OP Online Content
Pro Angler
C
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 734
Thanks for all the input guys. Rob will reach out to you in a few days.

Re: Lowrance 12 graphs [Re: Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff] #14017887 06/01/21 11:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,568
fivebites Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,568
Originally Posted by Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff
FYI-there is an electronics forum near the bottom of all the Forums that would help obtain quicker/accurate information versus using the Bass Fishing forum for this topic.

The Elite Ti family including the Ti2 is not an HDS unit like the LIVE. Operations are very close to the same, but the Ti series does not have Ethernet, however it does have NMEA. NMEA will allow one way-point at a time to be shared between units. The new Active Target transducer requires Ethernet and will not work with the Elite Ti or Ti2 units. HDS - LIVE & CARBON and the Gen-Touch models all have Ethernet (however only the Carbon & LIVE are Active Target capable). Ethernet allows to share transducer data/images between HDS units (keep in mind some structure scan ducers will not work with all HDS units due to technology and software). Ethernet will transfer massive amount of waypoints between units connected together.

HDS has two ports for transducers which will allow you to connect a 2D Sonar transducer and mount it to provide sonar at high speeds (like shoot through hull sonar ducers). The Elite series only has one port for a transducer. The Ti2 will work with the latest Active Imaging 3-1 and would tie up the only transducer port on the Ti unit.

The Ti series has a good glass (screen), the Carbon has a better screen and the LIVE has the most expensive screen (brighter from any angle) than any unit on the market today. Hope this helps. Feel free to PM me if you would like to have a conversation.


PM sent Rob.


2019 Chevy Tahoe
2018 Basscat Eyra 250 Proxs
PB Wife of 30 years!
PB Largemouth 9.56 Ray Roberts
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3