texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
durangodave, samueljalarcon, samuelsalarcon, telemaster12, Bc12point
116920 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 107,764
hopalong 104,696
Pilothawk 81,922
John175☮ 81,330
Bigbob_FTW 80,222
Derek 🐝 67,577
JDavis7873 67,408
Mark Perry 65,536
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,144,601
Posts15,519,605
Members141,920
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Active Target power issues #14011296 05/26/21 08:06 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
I finally received my active target and hooked it up according to the directions and the wiring diagram. Tied the yellow wires from the power cable on the FS 9 and the AT module together as instructed but the AT module does not power up when the FS unit is turned on. Anyone else have this problem. By the way the wiring diagram on page 26 of the installation guide has the positive and negative feeds labeled backwards.
Thanks


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: NitroRunner] #14011311 05/26/21 08:18 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 201
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 201
There is an update for the yellow wire issue. You can find the update on the list of updates under Active Target. This update is for the AT transducer and module not your unit. Follow the instructions on how to update.


Lowrance On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S] #14011339 05/26/21 08:34 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
Thank You Sir


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: NitroRunner] #14011398 05/26/21 09:09 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
That worked until I hit update and then the next screen is supposed to have the device to update but it is blank. The headers are there but there is no device to select can you help?


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: NitroRunner] #14011506 05/26/21 10:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 201
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 201
is the AT box powered up?


Lowrance On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S] #14011914 05/27/21 05:26 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,693
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,693
Originally Posted by Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S
is the AT box powered up?

What he also means to ask is do you have active power available at the connector for the Active Target? The yellow wire can't make power appear magically if you have a switch on the boat turned off if said switch must be on for you to have +12V on the red wire. The fact that you don't see the AT listed probably means the FS9 isn't seeing it on the network, which leads us to asking if the module is actually powered up.

Re: Active Target power issues [Re: Flippin-Out] #14012063 05/27/21 12:38 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
Yes it has power directly from the fuse block that is turned on at the master power switch. My understanding is that the yellow wire is like the on off switch. The AT box has power but no way to turn it on.


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: NitroRunner] #14012117 05/27/21 01:19 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,693
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,693
Originally Posted by NitroRunner
Yes it has power directly from the fuse block that is turned on at the master power switch. My understanding is that the yellow wire is like the on off switch. The AT box has power but no way to turn it on.

Not quite like that.
Yes, the yellow wire is a "trigger" or "wake up" wire, think like remote on/off switch. It's an output from your FS unit, and an input to the AT module. Anytime an MFD is on, it's yellow wire (output) has 12V on it. As an input, that 12V on the yellow wire will cause an accessory to power up if that accessory's red/black wires are connected to an active power source (your fuse block in this case).

Lowrance confirmed in videos produced by the company that the issue was/is as follows: When the MFD turns on, the yellow wire WILL turn on the AT module. However, ONCE IT IS ON, turning the voltage OFF on the yellow wire would not result in the AT module turning off. In other words, you could turn it ON, but there was no way to turn it OFF - unless you had a switch to interrupt the red power wire going to the AT module. So, your unit never powering up is NOT an indication of the software error that existed. That error is corrected in the AT module release 20.1-64.2.66 that occurred about 4/24/21.

When you say "the AT box has power" explain exactly how you have determined this. For instance: Look at the module to see what the indicator LEDs are doing. The "normal" state for the Power LED is to alternately blink amber and green. (If I recall correctly, solid green means booting, not "up and running".) The amber/green alternating indicates the unit booted and is operational. The Ethernet LED should be blinking on and off to indicate activity. I'm not familiar with the Elite FS, so must ask do you need to enable the hard wired Ethernet port? If that LED isn't blinking, your MFD isn't communicating with the AT module.

Re: Active Target power issues [Re: Flippin-Out] #14012193 05/27/21 02:11 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
Thanks Flippin-Out. So the LED will light up even if the unit is not on? Everything in the boat is hooked up to a 12 socket fuse block that powered up by a master power switch. Everything else is working so the AT module should have power when I turn the master switch on. However if the LED's should light up when I turn on the master switch I must have a problem. Thanks for your help


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: NitroRunner] #14012227 05/27/21 02:34 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,693
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,693
Originally Posted by NitroRunner
Thanks Flippin-Out. So the LED will light up even if the unit is not on? Everything in the boat is hooked up to a 12 socket fuse block that powered up by a master power switch. Everything else is working so the AT module should have power when I turn the master switch on. However if the LED's should light up when I turn on the master switch I must have a problem. Thanks for your help

The way I wrote it up may have confused you, and I probably didn't consider one other possible gotcha.

Yes, I think there's some gremlin. No, you shouldn't always have lit LEDs. In order for the AT to power up, three things must be true:
1) The AT power cable must have a connected Ground
2) The AT power cable must have connected and live +12V
3) The yellow wire of the AT power cable must have +12V (or there-abouts) on it. It would normally get this from the yellow wire coming out of the MFD.

I would agree you should have 12V on the AT power cable - assuming they are properly connected at that fuse block. Do you have a fuse block model that provides a Ground to go with each fuse? (That approach is less prone to Ground connection problems.) You might want to check for 12V between the fuse block screw for the red wire to the AT and the Gnd for the AT power cable just to be SURE you really do have power. Remember, you could have a bad fuse that might not LOOK blown, but doesn't have continuity. I'd say replace it as a test. If power out of the fuse block gets confirmed, then you have a "yellow wire issue" if the unit won't power up. That issue could be that the voltage level isn't getting from the FS unit to the AT unit (because of something like a bad crimp, for instance).

I don't know how you have the yellow wire connected as you haven't said. Mine are on terminal strips, so I can always access them. What you may need to do as a temporary diagnostic test is to jump the AT power cable yellow wire straight to 12V. If you have it all crimped into connected wire, I don't see much way around having to cut it. The yellow wire at the end of the AT module power cable can safely be connected to the same fuse block screw as the AT's red wire. This will not hurt anything, but the AT module will be on all the time when connected this way. Try this and get back to us.

Re: Active Target power issues [Re: NitroRunner] #14012228 05/27/21 02:34 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
Thanks Flippin-Out. So the LED will light up even if the unit is not on? Everything in the boat is hooked up to a 12 socket fuse block that powered up by a master power switch. Everything else is working so the AT module should have power when I turn the master switch on. However if the LED's should light up when I turn on the master switch I must have a problem. Thanks for your help


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: Flippin-Out] #14012257 05/27/21 03:01 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
The yellow wire is soldered directly to the yellow wire from the FS 9. I'll go get some wire to make a jumper and try that. Thanks again


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: NitroRunner] #14012271 05/27/21 03:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 201
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 201
Not to assume but do you have the ethernet connected from the AT box to your FS ethernet port also?


Lowrance On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S] #14012460 05/27/21 06:03 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
Thanks so much Larry and Flippin out, I cut the yellow wire and installed a jumper and the AT module powered up and the FS 9 recognizes it. So do I install the new software and put the yellow wires back together or just keep the jumper in place?


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Re: Active Target power issues [Re: Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S] #14012461 05/27/21 06:04 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
N
NitroRunner Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
N
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 51
Yes on the ethernet Thanks


PB Black Bass 11.58
PB Peacock Bass 25+
PB Rainbow Trout 8+
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3