texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
RicHoll, day tripper, ford1213, Rodfather708, mwyatt1974
115582 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 103,158
hopalong 97,565
Pilothawk 80,977
John175ā˜® 79,387
Bigbob_FTW 74,708
JDavis7873® 67,408
Mark Perry 63,080
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,152,135
Posts15,752,825
Members140,582
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Need a thru-hull transducer... #13985201 05/04/21 04:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
... for a Humminbird Helix 12 HW graph.
I have tried the in hull, the transom style but for the life of me after I get over 25mph I lose all contact with my depth readings. I'm only need it for reading my depth while on plane. I already have the Y cable to the transom mount so I am looking drilling a hole in my hull and putting in the thru hull type.


2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13985708 05/04/21 08:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
Can't you get a shoot thru hull for your boat if its a glass glass boat


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13985997 05/05/21 12:11 AM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
Already tried that, it still goes out after 25 mph or so. That was my first transducer attempt. Second was a transom mount and it does a little better but not really anything above 30mph.


2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13986119 05/05/21 01:59 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
When it comes to transducers 99% of issues is the install. Can you post pics of your current transducers, What kind of boat? The majority of Bass boats have shoot thru transducer that easily work up to and above 70 MPH. There has to be more to this to be discovered.


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13986179 05/05/21 02:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
The boat is a 2020 Nitro Z20. I installed the in hull transducer right in front/next too the factory in hull transducer in the hull.(The factory one is a Lowrance, Iā€™m using Humminbirds)
I lightly sanded the hull and the transducer face and put down the epoxy that came with it. It twisted the transducer a good 1/4 to 1/2 turn and put a brick on it for two or more days before removing it to keep it snug to the hull.
The placement in the hull is flat, I am assuming that the factory guys knew where to place the Lowrance transducer when the put it in...remember Iā€™m assuming this...lol.
It about 14ā€ from the back of the back, (transom) so I know it is staying in contact with water even on plane.
The transom mount is mounted flat and halfway down below the hull and on the smooth surface where no ribs will create any type water disturbance.
I first thought it might be a bad Y cable so I bought another one but that did not help it any.
I can take a picture off the transducer but that will have me take out 3 batteries and unscrew the board to access that area. If need be I will do that to correct any problems. I would have to do that anyways to install a thru-hull transducer.

Last edited by Dogfish_Jones; 05/05/21 02:56 AM.

2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13987932 05/06/21 02:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
Looking at the transom from the back is the Transome ducer on the left or right of the motor?


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13987934 05/06/21 02:15 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
Also the farther you mount the thru hull transducer from the transom the worst it will be for connecting to the bottom. Also did you test the location in the water before glueing it down? To make sure it locks on>?


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S] #13989039 05/07/21 12:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
Originally Posted by Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S
Looking at the transom from the back is the Transome ducer on the left or right of the motor?

It s just about center of motor, this is the in hull transducer. My transducer I mounted on the transom , it is on the right of the motor.


2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S] #13989054 05/07/21 01:00 PM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
Originally Posted by Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S
Also the farther you mount the thru hull transducer from the transom the worst it will be for connecting to the bottom. Also did you test the location in the water before gluing it down? To make sure it locks on>?

I did not test it before I glued it down. I put it right next to the factory install in hull transducer .Again I was assuming the factory guys knew the best spot. It is a flat area in the hull , I'm sure a place where Nitro made just for in hull transducers.
What I have done is ordered the tru-hull transducer for my Helix 12. I will not have more than a 2 degree rise so it will be pointed almost straight down.
Being most of what I fish is the Coosa River chain I really like knowing the depth I'm running at. You can be in the middle of the lake portion and be running in 40' of water and the next second you are in 2' of water. I do rely on my Lakemaster map the entire time but my OCD kicks in when my depth reading are reading nothing or 20' to 650' all the time.


2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13989056 05/07/21 01:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 91
If you can post a pic of your skimmer transducer on the right of the motor with a view of from behind the boat looking at the ducer and on the side of the boat along the transom from the ducer side of the boat I might be able to see if something jumps out.


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S] #13989199 05/07/21 03:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
Originally Posted by Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S
If you can post a pic of your skimmer transducer on the right of the motor with a view of from behind the boat looking at the ducer and on the side of the boat along the transom from the ducer side of the boat I might be able to see if something jumps out.

Will do, thanks. I will have to take a picture when i get home this evening.


2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13994539 05/12/21 02:22 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 151
skeeterzx202 Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 151
borrow someones lowrance and see if the one that came with the boat reads while on plane- if so, get the adapter and just use it.


Waterloo Rods/Smacktackle baits
Coleto Bassmasters
South region B.A.S.S. Nation
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: skeeterzx202] #13994546 05/12/21 02:27 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,833
W
Wayne P. Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,833
Originally Posted by skeeterzx202
borrow someones lowrance and see if the one that came with the boat reads while on plane- if so, get the adapter and just use it.



A Lowrance transducer does not do HW CHIRP.


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N and G4N, 1198c SI, SOLIX 10 SI G3,
Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI and G3, MEGA 360, RC-1
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #14000684 05/17/21 03:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 331
(Update)
I installed a thru-hull transducer. Drilled that 1 1/8" hole and installed it. Waited a few days for the marine epoxy to set and tried it out.
When i get over 25 0r 30 mph, I lose all depth readings! I give up on trying to get a transducer to read depth while on plane.
I have tried a shoot thru, a transom mount and now a thru hull and every one of them all lose depth reading after that speed.
The sonar part is very clear and the depth reading is fine while sitting still and going slow, but so were the in hull and transom mount.
I will just rely on my Lakemaster mapping to navigate the waters and worry about depth when at idle or sitting still.
The thru-hull is mounted near the back of the boat, and a very clean part where I am not getting any turbulence from the underside of the hull. It is on a 4 degree slant which is fine as long as it is under 10 degrees per Humminbird install directions.

One thing, is there a setting on the sonar side that might be better when you are on plane? Like narrow beam, or wide?

Last edited by Dogfish_Jones; 05/17/21 03:15 PM.

2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3