texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Teis, Simba, Psserve, Bctcattle, Seamteam
115180 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 101,658
hopalong 95,973
Pilothawk 80,804
John175ā˜® 78,900
Bigbob_FTW 72,984
JDavis7873® 67,402
Mark Perry 62,564
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,146,089
Posts15,664,916
Members140,180
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Need a thru-hull transducer... #13985201 05/04/21 04:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 50
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
OP Online Content
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 50
... for a Humminbird Helix 12 HW graph.
I have tried the in hull, the transom style but for the life of me after I get over 25mph I lose all contact with my depth readings. I'm only need it for reading my depth while on plane. I already have the Y cable to the transom mount so I am looking drilling a hole in my hull and putting in the thru hull type.


2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13985708 05/04/21 08:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 62
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 62
Can't you get a shoot thru hull for your boat if its a glass glass boat


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13985997 Yesterday at 12:11 AM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 50
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
OP Online Content
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 50
Already tried that, it still goes out after 25 mph or so. That was my first transducer attempt. Second was a transom mount and it does a little better but not really anything above 30mph.


2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13986119 Yesterday at 01:59 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 62
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 62
When it comes to transducers 99% of issues is the install. Can you post pics of your current transducers, What kind of boat? The majority of Bass boats have shoot thru transducer that easily work up to and above 70 MPH. There has to be more to this to be discovered.


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13986179 Yesterday at 02:54 AM
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 50
D
Dogfish_Jones Online Content OP
Outdoorsman
OP Online Content
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Dec 2020
Posts: 50
The boat is a 2020 Nitro Z20. I installed the in hull transducer right in front/next too the factory in hull transducer in the hull.(The factory one is a Lowrance, Iā€™m using Humminbirds)
I lightly sanded the hull and the transducer face and put down the epoxy that came with it. It twisted the transducer a good 1/4 to 1/2 turn and put a brick on it for two or more days before removing it to keep it snug to the hull.
The placement in the hull is flat, I am assuming that the factory guys knew where to place the Lowrance transducer when the put it in...remember Iā€™m assuming this...lol.
It about 14ā€ from the back of the back, (transom) so I know it is staying in contact with water even on plane.
The transom mount is mounted flat and halfway down below the hull and on the smooth surface where no ribs will create any type water disturbance.
I first thought it might be a bad Y cable so I bought another one but that did not help it any.
I can take a picture off the transducer but that will have me take out 3 batteries and unscrew the board to access that area. If need be I will do that to correct any problems. I would have to do that anyways to install a thru-hull transducer.

Last edited by Dogfish_Jones; Yesterday at 02:56 AM.

2020 Nitro Z20, Mercury 250xp 4 stroke
"Sometimes I have to remind myself that it is called Fishing and not catching"
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13987932 5 hours ago
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 62
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 62
Looking at the transom from the back is the Transome ducer on the left or right of the motor?


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Re: Need a thru-hull transducer... [Re: Dogfish_Jones] #13987934 5 hours ago
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 62
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 62
Also the farther you mount the thru hull transducer from the transom the worst it will be for connecting to the bottom. Also did you test the location in the water before glueing it down? To make sure it locks on>?


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3