texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Kevin84Lee, jlee2122, cgarldt11, Apex Predator, Egbert
115371 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 102,390
hopalong 97,108
Pilothawk 80,883
John175☮ 79,135
Bigbob_FTW 73,916
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,635
Mark Perry 62,865
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,149,263
Posts15,712,144
Members140,371
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Livescope depth capability #13977010 04/28/21 01:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 277
S
stapler101 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
S
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 277
I have a friend running livescope on a 1022 Garmin.
He says that in depths of 14 feet or greater the image is very distorted making it difficult to spot fish.
I am considering livescope for use on humps, points, and drop offs from 12-20 feet or so.
Is livescope what i need?


If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough! ------Mario Andretti
Re: Livescope depth capability [Re: stapler101] #13977159 04/28/21 02:10 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,293
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,293
Only if he’s using the perspective mode, it doesn’t work great in deeper water. But you need to understand that LS has a very skinny beam and you have to rotate the transducer very slowly to find things, it requires patience, finesse and the ability to learn.

Re: Livescope depth capability [Re: grout-scout] #13977650 04/28/21 08:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 277
S
stapler101 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
S
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 277
Thanks grout-scout!
If I rotate the transducer the beam gets narrower but the depth capability
increases.
Is that correct?


If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough! ------Mario Andretti
Re: Livescope depth capability [Re: stapler101] #13977765 04/28/21 10:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,293
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 10,293
In forward mode (or down) you will have really good depth and distance, but yes the beam is very skinny. I had a buddy read your post and he sent me a video of him jigging on a school. Your LS prob won’t be as clear as his, his is one of the best I’ve seen. I think water clarity could be the difference, he’s fishing a lake that looks pretty similar to Amistad. But his video will show give you an idea on what you might see.




Re: Livescope depth capability [Re: stapler101] #13978072 04/29/21 01:21 AM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 411
T
TomRom Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 411
You are correct in my opinion about water clarity and how it preforms. I have fished the exact same spot multiple times and the views have been different when the water conditions have changed. An algae bloom can really lower the clarity you see on the screen.

Last edited by TomRom; 04/29/21 01:22 AM.
Re: Livescope depth capability [Re: stapler101] #13978307 04/29/21 03:33 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 277
S
stapler101 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
S
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 277
Thanks for the info.
Thanks for sharing the videos


If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough! ------Mario Andretti
Re: Livescope depth capability [Re: stapler101] #13986158 05/05/21 02:33 AM
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 180
J
JSouther Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
J
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 180
Have you tried playing with the gain and auto depth or try adjusting manually. Try different color pallets also.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3