texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
MikeLott, RB88, greenpin, ccjohnson, BigHawg44
115878 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 104,100
hopalong 99,349
Pilothawk 81,177
John175☮ 79,903
Bigbob_FTW 75,767
JDavis7873 67,408
Derek 🐝 66,950
Mark Perry 63,781
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,155,820
Posts15,802,159
Members140,878
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
HDS 7, Won't shut off using power button #13973610 04/25/21 11:34 PM
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
D
Dropshottin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
I have a HDS 9 networked with an HDS 7, I believe the HDS 7 is a Gen 3... It won't shut off using the power button. Have to disconnect the power cable. Not sure why this is happening. It seems to work otherwise, but seems laggy....

The unit was working perfectly before I installed my new trolling motor with the universal sonar, HOWEVER... that is connected to the HDS 9 on the bow, so not sure why the HDS 7 at the console will not shut off.

It wasn't working at all, so I did a factory reset, and now, like I said, everything works except for the power off. Any thoughts?

Re: HDS 7, Won't shut off using power button [Re: Dropshottin] #13974079 04/26/21 01:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 943
Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 943
When you press the Power Button (don't hold it down, just press and release) do you get a menu that pops up in middle of the screen. If you do, one of the selections there is Power Off. Are you saying that does not even work?


Rob Jasper
Re: HDS 7, Won't shut off using power button [Re: Dropshottin] #13975562 04/27/21 01:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 666
J
Jake Blood Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
J
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 666
Yeah, I press it release and nothing happens. It worked fine a week ago and did what you said above... now it does nothing

Re: HDS 7, Won't shut off using power button [Re: Dropshottin] #13975712 04/27/21 03:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 943
Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 943
I assume Touch is working on other features. It is not good for the unit to kill power and not turn off properly, but it is better that it will not turn off than no turning on. You should reach out to Lowrance and see what they say / can do.


Rob Jasper
Re: HDS 7, Won't shut off using power button [Re: Dropshottin] #13976283 04/27/21 09:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 666
J
Jake Blood Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
J
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 666
Yeah, everything else works.. powers up using the button just fine, its just super odd that it wont shut down using the same button. I am worried that unplugging it over time will cause issues...

Re: HDS 7, Won't shut off using power button [Re: Dropshottin] #13976481 04/28/21 12:29 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 95
L
Larry Hutchens Lowrance Pro S Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
L
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 95
what Software update do you have?


On Water Training
www.LowranceOnWater.com

Lowrance Pro-Staff since 1986 Bass and Crappie Fishing, Hunting, Farming, On Water Training , Exploring Texas and its history.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2021 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3