texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
CurtisKeller, Mike Barker, nebass97, Fishing243, fishin321
115380 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 102,430
hopalong 97,126
Pilothawk 80,885
John175☮ 79,151
Bigbob_FTW 73,949
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,645
Mark Perry 62,868
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,149,389
Posts15,713,749
Members140,380
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
HDS 9 GEN 3 Question #13962530 04/16/21 02:44 PM
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
D
Dropshottin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
I have the HDS 9, Gen 3 touch on the bow of my boat. It shows down scan imaging options on the box, but I do not see any options to select that on the graph? Is that because of the transducer type??? I am getting a MK Terrova with the built in sonar.. will that allow me to view down scan? Thank you in advance for the help.

Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962667 04/16/21 03:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 931
Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 931
The HDS 9 G3 would require a Total Scan, LSS2 or the 3D transducer to provide you with Downscan & Sidescan images. An easy install and mount would be the HDI transducer which fits well on a trolling motor and would provide both Sonar and Downscan. You would want to get the HDI ducer with the 7-pn connector and it would plug into the Sonar Blue connector on the back of your Gen-3. There is also a $20 mount kit for HDI Trolling Motor install. If you are ok with just Sonar, you will be able to connect via adapter cable to the sonar built into the Minn Kota.


Rob Jasper
Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962675 04/16/21 03:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,180
T Bird Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,180
You have to have a structure imaging type transducer installed and selected in the settings/installation menu on the graph. I believe the built in transducer on the Terrova is sonar only.


[Linked Image]

USAF "Thunderbirds" Alumni 1985-1989

Okie by birth, Texan by choice.
Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962709 04/16/21 04:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
D
Dropshottin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
Thank you both for that information. SO at the console, I have a HDS 7, that too shows down scan on teh box, but not a option on the graph. It sounds like I should probably go with sonar only up front, but change my transducer on the back to allow for sidescan and downscan.... ... the good thing is that the two graphs are connected, so I have the option to view my console graph from my bow graph...

So i guess I just need to reach out to lowrance and find out what transducer I need and put that on the back.... sound about right?

Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962730 04/16/21 04:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
D
Dropshottin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
So I have this on there now... Lowrance StructureScan HD Transom-Mount Transducer... When I read the description it says down scan...? I am confused

From the site " StructureScan HD provides three different views of the same underwater object -left, right (SideScan), and DownScan imaging for the highest level of viewing detail ever achieved."

What am I missing now...?

Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962747 04/16/21 04:50 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,696
B
bronco71 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,696
Do you have that transducer selected on the graph? It should work...

The built in ducer on that trolling motor is 2d sonar only but as said before you can add one on the trolling motor that will work.


1999 Triton TX21/225 Mercury Optimax
Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962762 04/16/21 04:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
D
Dropshottin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
Hmm, I will have to look into "if i have that selected" i would of thought if it is working, it knows what one I got on there.... ???

Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962773 04/16/21 05:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,696
B
bronco71 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,696
no, especially not if you are networked and another transducer is on the network.


1999 Triton TX21/225 Mercury Optimax
Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962812 04/16/21 05:39 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 14,097
M
Mo Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 14,097
Originally Posted by Dropshottin
So I have this on there now... Lowrance StructureScan HD Transom-Mount Transducer... When I read the description it says down scan...? I am confused

From the site " StructureScan HD provides three different views of the same underwater object -left, right (SideScan), and DownScan imaging for the highest level of viewing detail ever achieved."

What am I missing now...?


I have my gen 3 s for @ couple of years. , just learned recently hoe to switch from side to down scan.
It ts a setting on they structure scan menu. Google it. There is a short YouTube video that explains it

Mo



MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13962879 04/16/21 06:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
D
Dropshottin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
Thank you all so much.. gives me some good homework to do.. really appreciate it. Just went from a small boat with crappy graphs to a larger boat with better graphs, so got some adjusting to do.. appreciate the support here.

Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13963281 04/16/21 11:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,627
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,627
Originally Posted by Dropshottin
Thank you all so much.. gives me some good homework to do.. really appreciate it. Just went from a small boat with crappy graphs to a larger boat with better graphs, so got some adjusting to do.. appreciate the support here.

You can probably download the manuals for HDS Gen 3 on the Lowrance website.
You should also look at the info page to see what software version is loaded, and compare that with what is available from Lowrance. An update may be warranted.

Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Mo] #13963601 04/17/21 04:45 AM
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
D
Dropshottin Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by Mo
Originally Posted by Dropshottin
So I have this on there now... Lowrance StructureScan HD Transom-Mount Transducer... When I read the description it says down scan...? I am confused

From the site " StructureScan HD provides three different views of the same underwater object -left, right (SideScan), and DownScan imaging for the highest level of viewing detail ever achieved."

What am I missing now...?


I have my gen 3 s for @ couple of years. , just learned recently hoe to switch from side to down scan.
It ts a setting on they structure scan menu. Google it. There is a short YouTube video that explains it

Mo


You were spot on Mo, that is what it was. I had to switch from side scan to downscan... there is an option to look left and right, left, right or down.... kind of odd you cant have both, but I am good with it..

Re: HDS 9 GEN 3 Question [Re: Dropshottin] #13963721 04/17/21 12:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,627
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,627
Originally Posted by Dropshottin
Originally Posted by Mo
Originally Posted by Dropshottin
So I have this on there now... Lowrance StructureScan HD Transom-Mount Transducer... When I read the description it says down scan...? I am confused

From the site " StructureScan HD provides three different views of the same underwater object -left, right (SideScan), and DownScan imaging for the highest level of viewing detail ever achieved."

What am I missing now...?


I have my gen 3 s for @ couple of years. , just learned recently hoe to switch from side to down scan.
It ts a setting on they structure scan menu. Google it. There is a short YouTube video that explains it

Mo


You were spot on Mo, that is what it was. I had to switch from side scan to downscan... there is an option to look left and right, left, right or down.... kind of odd you cant have both, but I am good with it..

On a 2D sonar panel (which can be on the screen with a sidescan panel) you can add Downscan as a overlay to the 2D panel, thereby being able to see both at once.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3