texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
happyhukr, bsp65, robert millsap, bbqking, tester1973
117075 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 108,416
hopalong 105,403
Pilothawk 81,992
John175☮ 81,496
Bigbob_FTW 81,133
Derek 🐝 67,629
JDavis7873 67,408
Mark Perry 65,728
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,146,992
Posts15,551,308
Members142,075
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
creek overlay for Garmin hvs #13961328 04/15/21 04:26 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
gborg Online Content OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
Purchased Garmin Echomap UHD 93sv . Down loaded Garmin data from website via micro chip . NO creeks , no road beds ,timber etc... Anyone have the solution ??

Any and all responses are appreciated . Thanking you in advance.

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13961670 04/15/21 08:55 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
R
RoadRunnerTR21 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
When I bought mine in February, it came with US LakeVu g3 pre-loaded on the unit. The only lake I've been on is Cedar Creek and it has tons of map detail.

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13962515 04/16/21 02:35 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
gborg Online Content OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
Are creeks and roadbeds shown ??

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13962833 04/16/21 05:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
R
RoadRunnerTR21 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
Yes. Up to 1' contours with detailed structure

Last edited by RoadRunnerTR21; 04/16/21 05:53 PM.
Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13963122 04/16/21 09:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
R
RoadRunnerTR21 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
I'm going to try to attach a couple of screen shots from Cedar Creek.

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13963809 04/17/21 01:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
gborg Online Content OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
Man , mine has nothing similar as shown. I also down loaded via micro disk from Garmin the latest updates . The problem has to be me. Thank you for your diligence !! I will try again , however with computer help, my son ! I understand there is a chip for @ $150 that has the above and then some .

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13963921 04/17/21 02:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
R
RoadRunnerTR21 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
Best of luck to you. If there is anything I can do to help, let me know.

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13964148 04/17/21 06:52 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 346
I
iFloat Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
I
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 346
I have a '93 SV chirp from 2016. The boat and the Garmin are both new to me. The data on mine is not very detailed. I fish Lavon and it does not even have contours. I do not think there is a way to update maps unless you buy the Garmin chip. I tried to do a software update and I think that worked but it did not change or add to any map detail. Maybe I am missing something.

But with the cost of the map it almost makes sense to just buy a new unit.

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13964823 04/18/21 02:04 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
R
RoadRunnerTR21 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
iFloat have you looked at the cost of the Garmin UHD 93sv? Without transducer it's between $700 and $900. With transducer it is close to $1100. You can get U.S. Inland Maps LakeVü g3 for less than $150

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: RoadRunnerTR21] #13964898 04/18/21 03:22 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
gborg Online Content OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
Originally Posted by RoadRunnerTR21
iFloat have you looked at the cost of the Garmin UHD 93sv? Without transducer it's between $700 and $900. With transducer it is close to $1100. You can get U.S. Inland Maps LakeVü g3 for less than $150



The simple solution is my first and last. I can always tweek .

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13969686 04/22/21 12:53 PM
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 212
Kidstriper Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 212
I have the same lakevu g3 preloaded on my Garmin, I've gotten the latest map update, I don't have those road beds and creeks on mine either. Is there a setting I'm missing?


God Bless America!
[Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image]
Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13969845 04/22/21 02:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
R
RoadRunnerTR21 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
I'm not sure why you are not seeing any detail. There were no special settings for me. It showed the detail right out of the box.

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13969893 04/22/21 02:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
R
RoadRunnerTR21 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
R
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,237
How old is your unit? Is it a UHD? Does your box say Navionics mapping? When you start the unit up, it will show the version of maps it is running. What is yours?

Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: gborg] #13970791 04/23/21 11:35 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 325
C
Captain Yakker Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
C
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 325
There are 2 map modes. Navigation, and fishing. I have an Echomap Plus 93sv. The fishing map mode may have more creek data.


Fishin' to stock Lake Crisco.
Re: creek overlay for Garmin hvs [Re: Captain Yakker] #13970839 04/23/21 12:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
gborg Online Content OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,084
Originally Posted by Captain Yakker
There are 2 map modes. Navigation, and fishing. I have an Echomap Plus 93sv. The fishing map mode may have more creek data.



Brand new unit from Cabellas. Purchased this March 11th. Both fishing and navigation modes on my unit ,do not show creeks, road beds etc. Having called Cabellas and posed same questions as stated above , same aswers as stated . Navionics chip as used in Lowrance products are not compatible . Garmin makes said chip .

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3