texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
n2ratfishin, Tanuki Joe, Valsus, Eddie Noore, CALLEN
115023 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 101,361
hopalong 95,518
Pilothawk 80,772
John175☮ 78,846
Bigbob_FTW 72,529
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,290
Mark Perry 62,470
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,144,539
Posts15,640,827
Members140,023
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Livescope #13936307 03/25/21 06:55 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 183
fatdad74 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 183
Can I run my livescope black box and graph off a 18v Milwaukee drill battery heard it gives a better picture


Phillip Wright
Re: Livescope [Re: fatdad74] #13936370 03/25/21 07:37 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 8,497
Tiltman Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 8,497
Originally Posted by fatdad74
Can I run my livescope black box and graph off a 18v Milwaukee drill battery heard it gives a better picture



yes you can actually run the graph and box off of one. I use a 9AH DeWalt 20V

better picture.........not sure to be honest

Re: Livescope [Re: fatdad74] #13936430 03/25/21 08:06 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 183
fatdad74 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 183
Ok thanks I think I'm gonna go the Milwaukee battery so I don't have to worry about my cranking battery going dead


Phillip Wright
Re: Livescope [Re: fatdad74] #13955068 04/10/21 05:35 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 176
Whaler-170 Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 176
I’m running a ultra 106sv and Livescope on a Milwaukee 18v 12ah and haven’t had any problems. I’m getting over 6 hours run time with the 12ah.
You will need to have a common ground wire connected to all your devices that are networked for them to share data.

Re: Livescope [Re: fatdad74] #13955090 04/10/21 06:09 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 386
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 386
I run both my units and livescope off my main engine battery. I usually fish 10 hrs on average each time out and never have any issues.

Re: Livescope [Re: fatdad74] #13955543 04/11/21 04:23 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
I must have a power hungry system. I ran a hds gen2 12 and a 122 ultra with lvs32 for 3 hours today and it dropped a brand new 50ah lithium down to 60%. I bought the lithium thinking that I could get a few trips on a single charge, not looking promising right now!

Re: Livescope [Re: fatdad74] #13955744 04/11/21 02:22 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 183
fatdad74 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 183
I finally got out to try the Milwaukee battery i got about 3.5 hours on a 5ah battery so I just need to take 2 with me and I think I will be fine


Phillip Wright
Re: Livescope [Re: grout-scout] #13956026 04/11/21 07:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 386
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 386
You might have something going on. I have a Group 27 Northstar AGM for my engine and electronics. Its a beast of a battery in my opinion. I also run my power poles and hydraulic jackplate off of it as well. Two echomap ultras plus Livescope. These are wired on a dedicated harness strait to the engine battery. If you are pulling your power for your units off of wiring to other accessories you might want to consider changing it. Run your Lowrance off of your engine battery and the Garmin stuff off of the lithium might be something to consider trying.

Originally Posted by grout-scout
I must have a power hungry system. I ran a hds gen2 12 and a 122 ultra with lvs32 for 3 hours today and it dropped a brand new 50ah lithium down to 60%. I bought the lithium thinking that I could get a few trips on a single charge, not looking promising right now!


Last edited by TomRom; 04/12/21 11:23 AM.
Re: Livescope [Re: grout-scout] #13956606 04/12/21 04:36 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,430
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,430
Originally Posted by grout-scout
I must have a power hungry system. I ran a hds gen2 12 and a 122 ultra with lvs32 for 3 hours today and it dropped a brand new 50ah lithium down to 60%. I bought the lithium thinking that I could get a few trips on a single charge, not looking promising right now!

Are you using a charger of putting the Li battery up to 100% to begin with? You should check the voltage spec for the battery you have, and check that it's really getting to 100% charge (via voltage reading with charger off).

Re: Livescope [Re: TomRom] #13957072 04/12/21 03:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
Originally Posted by TomRom
You might have something going on. I have a Group 27 Northstar AGM for my engine and electronics. Its a beast of a battery in my opinion. I also run my power poles and hydraulic jackplate off of it as well. Two echomap ultras plus Livescope. These are wired on a dedicated harness strait to the engine battery. If you are pulling your power for your units off of wiring to other accessories you might want to consider changing it. Run your Lowrance off of your engine battery and the Garmin stuff off of the lithium might be something to consider trying.

Originally Posted by grout-scout
I must have a power hungry system. I ran a hds gen2 12 and a 122 ultra with lvs32 for 3 hours today and it dropped a brand new 50ah lithium down to 60%. I bought the lithium thinking that I could get a few trips on a single charge, not looking promising right now!





Apparently I do! Drained the 50ah in 7 hours running the 122, gls10. I had my gen2 Lowrance on 1/3 of the time, but even adding up what they are “supposed” to pull each, I died way too quickly. Has to be the Garmin, never had an issue with the lowrances. Time to troubleshoot!

Re: Livescope [Re: Flippin-Out] #13957075 04/12/21 03:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Originally Posted by grout-scout
I must have a power hungry system. I ran a hds gen2 12 and a 122 ultra with lvs32 for 3 hours today and it dropped a brand new 50ah lithium down to 60%. I bought the lithium thinking that I could get a few trips on a single charge, not looking promising right now!

Are you using a charger of putting the Li battery up to 100% to begin with? You should check the voltage spec for the battery you have, and check that it's really getting to 100% charge (via voltage reading with charger off).



It’s not a fancy charger, but it is made for lipo4’s. The ionic app said 100%, it might have been lying because the charger said that it wasn’t full yet. I went by their app.

I think the gls 10 is pulling more amps than it’s supposed to, I just have to figure out a way to read it. I think the ionics app might show me the amount of draw real time, but it’ll be a few days before I can verify it.

Re: Livescope [Re: grout-scout] #13957086 04/12/21 04:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,430
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,430
Originally Posted by grout-scout
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Originally Posted by grout-scout
I must have a power hungry system. I ran a hds gen2 12 and a 122 ultra with lvs32 for 3 hours today and it dropped a brand new 50ah lithium down to 60%. I bought the lithium thinking that I could get a few trips on a single charge, not looking promising right now!

Are you using a charger of putting the Li battery up to 100% to begin with? You should check the voltage spec for the battery you have, and check that it's really getting to 100% charge (via voltage reading with charger off).



It’s not a fancy charger, but it is made for lipo4’s. The ionic app said 100%, it might have been lying because the charger said that it wasn’t full yet. I went by their app.

I think the gls 10 is pulling more amps than it’s supposed to, I just have to figure out a way to read it. I think the ionics app might show me the amount of draw real time, but it’ll be a few days before I can verify it.

With the low time you had the equipment on, I agree something is going on. The Li battery will specify voltage for a full charge, so you could double-check that with a digital voltmeter. Many basic digital voltmeters have the ability to read amperage at smaller levels, typically limited to 10A. Therefore, if you power on only the Garmin with the battery connection made temporarily through the DVM, you'll be able to make a rather accurate reading of amperage. Contact me if you need more info on doing this.

Update: I looked up the Ultra 122sv and found the spec is 26W, which is under 2A on a Li battery typically. Amperage will rise a bit as the battery depletes, but even at 12V, that's only 2.17 Amps. That's comparable to your Lowrance unit.

Last edited by Flippin-Out; 04/12/21 04:11 PM.
Re: Livescope [Re: Flippin-Out] #13957166 04/12/21 04:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out

With the low time you had the equipment on, I agree something is going on. The Li battery will specify voltage for a full charge, so you could double-check that with a digital voltmeter. Many basic digital voltmeters have the ability to read amperage at smaller levels, typically limited to 10A. Therefore, if you power on only the Garmin with the battery connection made temporarily through the DVM, you'll be able to make a rather accurate reading of amperage. Contact me if you need more info on doing this.

Update: I looked up the Ultra 122sv and found the spec is 26W, which is under 2A on a Li battery typically. Amperage will rise a bit as the battery depletes, but even at 12V, that's only 2.17 Amps. That's comparable to your Lowrance unit.



Flippin, have you ever heard of a battery (I’m trying to think of the proper word or phrase) become stronger or have better performance after a few uses/cycles? There was some literature someplace with the ionics that said something to this extent, seemed very odd to me; but I have no history with lithiums.

Re: Livescope [Re: fatdad74] #13957220 04/12/21 05:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,430
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,430
I am not knowledgeable enough about the Li Iron Phosphate technology to say either way. I'd think if there is any difference it would likely be minor, not enough to explain the rapid drop you've experienced. Not to imply this is the cause, but consider that a number of possible defects could be at fault. An example would be a faulty BMS module (inside the battery). It would be interesting to measure the amperage draw with various devices turned on. From that, it's possible to judge drain vs. battery status to say whether the battery is meeting spec, or if the load is excessive (due to a faulty unit).

Re: Livescope [Re: Flippin-Out] #13957249 04/12/21 05:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 9,796
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
I am not knowledgeable enough about the Li Iron Phosphate technology to say either way. I'd think if there is any difference it would likely be minor, not enough to explain the rapid drop you've experienced. Not to imply this is the cause, but consider that a number of possible defects could be at fault. An example would be a faulty BMS module (inside the battery). It would be interesting to measure the amperage draw with various devices turned on. From that, it's possible to judge drain vs. battery status to say whether the battery is meeting spec, or if the load is excessive (due to a faulty unit).




Someone on FB thinks that the app will show the amp draw, if so, I’ll turn on each device separately and take a note. I don’t suspect the new battery 100%, because it (Garmin setup) was draining my old cranking battery also. I assumed the battery was just weak, apparently it wasn’t. Someone mentioned to check my connections, they thought that maybe a bad connection was causing the graph to pull more amps than needed, this sounds backwards to me; but I’m not gonna argue at this point. Definitely something funky happening! Do you think there could be something with the wiring causing this issue? 10g to the graphs on 1 circuit and 10g on another circuit just for the gls module.

Do you have any idea, how much power a graph would pull while in standby mode? I can’t find anything documented.


And thank you for the info. cheers

Last edited by grout-scout; 04/12/21 05:42 PM.
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3