texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
bshort, Jacob Taylor, JB227, JeffreyScott, BOBTHENAILER
115018 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 101,350
hopalong 95,503
Pilothawk 80,772
John175☮ 78,844
Bigbob_FTW 72,510
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,285
Mark Perry 62,468
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,144,463
Posts15,639,704
Members140,018
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Live Scope or Active Imaging from Lowrance #13931015 03/21/21 05:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
S
SabineAndy Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
S
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Need help in deciding whether to go with the Garmin Live Scope or Lowrances Active imaging
Seen some comparisons on youtube they look about the same.
Does anyone have experience with both or specifically with the Lowrance?
I know eveyone who has a Livescope says it the only way to go but?

Re: Live Scope or Active Imaging from Lowrance [Re: SabineAndy] #13931053 03/21/21 06:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 386
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 386
Buy what you feel comfortable with. The advantage of livescope is that it does show you that fish are in the area. But I have cast to multiple fish and have not had a hook up. Other times I have. If you fish for crappie it really has an advantage. Bass dont usually school like that and usually are on the move. I had Lowrance units and switched to Garmin when I bought the livescope system. I will say that Garmin are really simple to use and has made my fishing less frustrating. But if you have Lowrance, especially the latest models that support their version of livescope I do would probably stick with Lowrance. I had the Gen 3 units that I really struggled with and was going to replace them with new units. So it was easy except for paying for them to switch to all Garmin.

Re: Live Scope or Active Imaging from Lowrance [Re: TomRom] #13931142 03/21/21 08:56 PM
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,223
F
fluker Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,223
We have Lowrance only, easy to use Active Live Target, had friend with Garmin Livescope and he said same as his. No problems with unit, great for crappie and locating brush where bass hide. If you have
Lowrance go with Active Target.

Re: Live Scope or Active Imaging from Lowrance [Re: SabineAndy] #13931282 03/21/21 11:24 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 12,116
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Guru
Online Happy
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 12,116
I compared them side by side today.

Flip a coin is my consensus. They are almost identical in their performance and usefulness.

I have AT, since I already had up to date Lowrance graphs.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Live Scope or Active Imaging from Lowrance [Re: SabineAndy] #13932109 03/22/21 05:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
N
n8cas Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
N
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
I've heard from the BassTank that some of the new shipments of ActiveTarget - they're having problems with? Has anyone heard this? Said that if you are awaiting a delivery of Active Target Transducer it might be further delayed because of this. I think this is on Lowrance's End.

Re: Live Scope or Active Imaging from Lowrance [Re: n8cas] #13932252 03/22/21 07:03 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 12,116
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Guru
Online Happy
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 12,116
Originally Posted by n8cas
I've heard from the BassTank that some of the new shipments of ActiveTarget - they're having problems with? Has anyone heard this? Said that if you are awaiting a delivery of Active Target Transducer it might be further delayed because of this. I think this is on Lowrance's End.

Old news. I ordered one from BassPro and it had a defective ducer. They wanted to back order a replacement. I sent it all back and got a refund. One week later, I bought one from Shut-Up-and-Fish and it has been perfect. The original shipments had some hiccups. The “new” style transducer has a ferrite ring about 4-5” from where the wiring goes in it.

I’d assume that pretty much every unit for sale now is a solid unit without issues.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Live Scope or Active Imaging from Lowrance [Re: SabineAndy] #13932352 03/22/21 08:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 386
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 386
The other comment I will make is water quality can make a difference on how it seems my Livescope unit performs. I have fished the same lake and same places on the lake for over a year now. When water changes occur at the lake, I have noticed some differences in how my unit performs. I especially noticed a difference when there is a big algae bloom.

Re: Live Scope or Active Imaging from Lowrance [Re: SteezMacQueen] #13937496 03/26/21 05:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
N
n8cas Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
N
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
Originally Posted by n8cas
I've heard from the BassTank that some of the new shipments of ActiveTarget - they're having problems with? Has anyone heard this? Said that if you are awaiting a delivery of Active Target Transducer it might be further delayed because of this. I think this is on Lowrance's End.

Old news. I ordered one from BassPro and it had a defective ducer. They wanted to back order a replacement. I sent it all back and got a refund. One week later, I bought one from Shut-Up-and-Fish and it has been perfect. The original shipments had some hiccups. The “new” style transducer has a ferrite ring about 4-5” from where the wiring goes in it.

I’d assume that pretty much every unit for sale now is a solid unit without issues.


Thanks for the insight. Anyone know how long until they bulk send out these "new" ducers? I'm still waiting from theBassTank.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3