texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
MILBASS21, eatfishsleepgolf, GarrettLee89, Zonadog71, Wmolina
115204 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 101,740
hopalong 96,056
Pilothawk 80,810
John175☮ 78,909
Bigbob_FTW 73,072
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,434
Mark Perry 62,594
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,146,427
Posts15,669,836
Members140,204
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
LiveScope Perspective.... #13926621 03/17/21 10:09 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 383
P
P_102 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 383
Does the SD card need to be formatted before downloading the updates to it? I’ve downloaded 3 times but my unit (9 series Echomap Plus) isn’t reading the card. It recognizes there is a card plugged in but not what’s on it. Any help appreciated!

Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13926776 03/18/21 12:10 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,020
R
ring fry Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
R
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,020
Must be 32gig or less.

Retired grass grower


2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS

Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13927118 03/18/21 09:08 AM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 383
P
P_102 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 383
Thanks, ring fry, it’s 16 gig

Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13927287 03/18/21 01:06 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,020
R
ring fry Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
R
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 6,020
Might try Garmin's help line 800-800-1020 during business hours.

Retired grass grower


2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS

Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13927331 03/18/21 01:42 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 396
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 396
It needs to be formatted to the computer platform you are using. So if you are using a Mac you need to buy a card that is formatted for a Mac. The same goes for a PC. But you probably all ready know that. Do you think it could be an issue with Garmin Express? I could not get it to work on my MacBook Air to download the latest mapping card updates. It would work to download updates to my handheld gps unit. Garmin technical support could not figure it out either and just sent me a new lake map card. I dont have any issues using the Active Captain app to download software updates.

Last edited by TomRom; 03/18/21 01:46 PM.
Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13927560 03/18/21 04:28 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 383
P
P_102 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 383
Upon further checking the card needs to be formatted to Fat32. I’ll see if that was the problem.

Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13927945 03/18/21 09:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 190
fatdad74 Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
Joined: Nov 2018
Posts: 190
I have had the same problem I found u have to buy the better sd cards the cheap ones don't work


Phillip Wright
Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13928331 03/19/21 03:51 AM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 396
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 396
So you have a MAC. I always try to buy the card already formatted but its no big deal to do it. Please post what you figure out is the problem.

Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13929886 03/20/21 02:26 PM
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 383
P
P_102 Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 383
Okay....formatted the chip, downloaded the file, went to the menu and double checked file is there.....unit still does not ‘see’ it. The unit recognizes the chip is there but not the file.....found a YouTube vid on downloading using Active Captain, trying that next.

FatDad, how do you tell which are the better SD cards?

Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13930035 03/20/21 04:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 396
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 396
Make sure you set up a dedicated Active Captain sd card. I set one up per the Active Captain instructions and just leave it in my second card slot on my console unit. If you have networked units you only have to set it up for one. My active captain set works really slick.

Last edited by TomRom; 03/20/21 04:29 PM.
Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: TomRom] #13930140 03/20/21 06:12 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,509
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,509
Originally Posted by TomRom
It needs to be formatted to the computer platform you are using. So if you are using a Mac you need to buy a card that is formatted for a Mac. The same goes for a PC. But you probably all ready know that. Do you think it could be an issue with Garmin Express? I could not get it to work on my MacBook Air to download the latest mapping card updates. It would work to download updates to my handheld gps unit. Garmin technical support could not figure it out either and just sent me a new lake map card. I dont have any issues using the Active Captain app to download software updates.


I never heard it was "necessary to buy a card formatted to the computer platform you are using." Every computer I've ever used had a tools function to format a card. When you plug one into a computer, it's possible to wipe it and format as needed. I'd guess that the file needs to be at the root level, and I bet it isn't in this case.

Last edited by Flippin-Out; 03/20/21 06:13 PM.
Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13930408 03/21/21 12:01 AM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 396
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 396
Go to CVS and buy a card that says it is formatted for Fat32. I did.

Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13931965 03/22/21 03:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 339
ThaDudeAbides Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 339
Originally Posted by P_102
Does the SD card need to be formatted before downloading the updates to it? I’ve downloaded 3 times but my unit (9 series Echomap Plus) isn’t reading the card. It recognizes there is a card plugged in but not what’s on it. Any help appreciated!


You have to do one additional step once you download it. You have to Run the downloaded application on your computer and it will most often recognize the Card automatically and save the update files there.

Please note that if you only "Download" the update, you are not done yet.

If none of this works, then you should try the active captain app method.


**My 2021 Goal is to fish my first crappie tourney!** Send me your advice....

1997 Nitro Savage 896, 200 HP Mercury EFI, Garmin Force, Garmin GPSMAP 1022 w/ Livescope, Garmin 93sv UHD (x2)
Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: P_102] #13948239 04/05/21 06:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 14,041
M
Mo Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 14,041
my lowrance only seems to like sandisk cards.

good luck

Mo



MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: LiveScope Perspective.... [Re: Mo] #13948342 04/05/21 08:07 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,509
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 4,509
Originally Posted by Mo
my lowrance only seems to like sandisk cards.

good luck

Mo

As for Lowrance HDS, I've used several brands of SD card, and some obscure branded, with no difference. I believe that one hard limit is the card size, with the max being 16GB if I remember correctly.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3