Print Thread
2 trips in a row skunked on blues at texoma #13818285 12/24/20 04:33 PM
S
Shadslayer69 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Heys guys, I had big plans for catching all kinds of big blues this winter. But I have not caught one yet. I have never done winter catfishing before. And I have had good information on places to looks and everything. But I cant get them to bite for me. I can catch all the big striper and crappie I want, but the blues are kicking my butt. I know several people that are catching 4 to 5 fish over 30 and 40 lbs the day before I go fishing plus a whole box of eaters. I must be doing everything wrong.

Fished 50-55 foot of water.
Dragged baits at 0.1-0.4 mph (it was windy)
Did not have planer boards. Ordering some today.
Fished oklahoma side so I used cut sandbass For bait.
What rigs do I need to be doing? Or Am I just cursed on catfish?

Wet Rooster Jigs Fishing Super Store
Re: 2 trips in a row skunked on blues at texoma [Re: Shadslayer69] #13818358 12/24/20 05:44 PM
Z
z289sec Offline
Pro Angler
Pro Angler
Z
I've been trying to target big blue cats. I can find them, no problem. But, can't them to bite. I can catch 2 to 10 pounders all day long though. I'm using a Santee Cooper rig, with an inline rattle, and a rattling float. As well as a suspended slip sinker rig, with an inline rattle. Drifting or trolling at .3 to .4. Cut Bluegill, Cut Shad, Strawberry Jello Chicken Breast, and Frozen Skipjack. Just about any type of bait seems to work for me.

But, can't seem to get the big ones to cooperate. Even tried whole live bluegill, and whole live shad.

Last edited by z289sec; 12/24/20 05:46 PM.
Re: 2 trips in a row skunked on blues at texoma [Re: Shadslayer69] #13818527 12/24/20 08:11 PM
🍀El Gato Azul🍀 Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler