texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Shaman Fisherman, Yogi47, K Pape, Mpmoon2011, Alexx202512
114103 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 98,623
Pilothawk 80,528
John175☮ 77,874
Bigbob_FTW 68,976
JDavis7873 67,400
Derek 🐝 65,511
Mark Perry 61,379
Tritonman 59,010
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics1,135,522
Posts15,480,242
Members139,103
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
lance vicks boatlanes on garmin #13771442 11/15/20 04:45 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 91,616
hopalong Offline OP
Pumpkin Head
OP Offline
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 91,616
YES!

they have them fixed, just loaded mine and got them as line trails instead of waypoints.
a whole lot easier and faster than my birds were. be sure to get the info sheet on how to load, have to go to gpx file in settings and a couple of other clicks but super simple.

this was on 93sv plus units, now just have to see if I can change color of them so my old eyeballs can see them better.


thank you lance and lori! thumb woot

Re: lance vicks boatlanes on garmin [Re: hopalong] #13773494 11/17/20 03:43 AM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,031
J
JIM SR. Online Sleepy
TFF Guru
Online Sleepy
TFF Guru
J
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,031
Just black,...I tried everything.

Re: lance vicks boatlanes on garmin [Re: hopalong] #13773588 11/17/20 11:36 AM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 288
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 288
Do the BoatLanes just connect waypoints? My friend has them on Toledo Bend and Rayburn. However there are places that the lane goes over land sometimes instead of going around the point. Therefore makes him not to trust them 100%. One thing he did do was to transfer them from his Lowrance unit over to his new Garmins he just bought. But apparently the BoatLanes people said that would work because the both use the same file extension. So what do you exactly mean that they got them fixed for a Garmin?

Last edited by TomRom; 11/17/20 11:37 AM.
Re: lance vicks boatlanes on garmin [Re: TomRom] #13773675 11/17/20 01:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 91,616
hopalong Offline OP
Pumpkin Head
OP Offline
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 91,616
Originally Posted by TomRom
Do the BoatLanes just connect waypoints? My friend has them on Toledo Bend and Rayburn. However there are places that the lane goes over land sometimes instead of going around the point. Therefore makes him not to trust them 100%. One thing he did do was to transfer them from his Lowrance unit over to his new Garmins he just bought. But apparently the BoatLanes people said that would work because the both use the same file extension. So what do you exactly mean that they got them fixed for a Garmin?



my install is garmin specific. when I bought them the first time and put the card in I got nothing to let me load, no info in screen etc. this time they loaded in a few seconds and not a problem one. something was not copacetic with the garmins in the first edition I guess.


when I get back to the lake I can post the directions to load and it shows the file type etc.

may be that a lowrance to garmin has some different info from the lowrance?


might be a good idea to just buy the garmin specific for whatever lakes he wants, they have rayburn and Tbend as well as a couple of others.

Re: lance vicks boatlanes on garmin [Re: hopalong] #13783319 11/24/20 03:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,036
L
LittleGazoo Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
L
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,036
Humminbird or Lowrance versions are not compatible with Garmin units.

Garmin units require the specific Garmin version from Boatlanes.

Last edited by LittleGazoo; 11/24/20 03:29 PM.
Re: lance vicks boatlanes on garmin [Re: LittleGazoo] #13783937 11/24/20 11:50 PM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 288
T
TomRom Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 288
Please don't take this wrong but are you speaking with direct knowledge? It would make sense that there could be an issue but I thought my friend talked to the BoatLanes people. Anyway if they are or not compatible for transferring the waypoints over from Lowrance to Garmin, I was still wondering do the BoatLanes show the lane going around the point or do they sometimes go across land?

Originally Posted by LittleGazoo
Humminbird or Lowrance versions are not compatible with Garmin units.

Garmin units require the specific Garmin version from Boatlanes.


Last edited by TomRom; 11/24/20 11:50 PM.
Re: lance vicks boatlanes on garmin [Re: TomRom] #13785882 11/26/20 06:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,036
L
LittleGazoo Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
L
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,036
Originally Posted by TomRom
Please don't take this wrong but are you speaking with direct knowledge?

I'm speaking with direct knowledge.
WAYPOINTS: HB & Lowrance waypoints will not convert to matching Garmin icons.

TRAILS: HB & Lowrance tracks will convert to a what I call a "spaghetti-bowl" on Garmin units.

So Garmin require the Garmin version.

Last edited by LittleGazoo; 11/28/20 07:42 PM.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3