texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
normjoel, Old John, Robert Stevens, Kenw00d, JCBassin75
114416 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 99,730
hopalong 93,216
Pilothawk 80,634
John175☮ 78,380
Bigbob_FTW 70,474
JDavis7873 67,400
Derek 🐝 65,912
Mark Perry 61,853
Tritonman 59,017
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics1,137,921
Posts15,537,857
Members139,416
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Helix 7 G3N SI , DI question. #13743985 10/26/20 04:42 AM
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 398
Z
z289sec Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
Z
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 398
I finally got my Helix to show arches in 2D, found and caught fish with it today. Had to put it in max mode on the switchfire, and dial the sensitivity way down.

Now, here is my question. When I mark them on 2D, and side by side it with DI, is it a setting that I'm missing, if it just looks like plankton or trash all over the whole screen? I've taken the sensitivity down to 4, and it still there. If I go further, it pretty much takes everything off the screen. So many crisp pics from other people's DI, and mine constantly looks like a screen full of trashy water. Also, other than dock supports and bridge pilings, I get nothing on the SI. Also a settings issue?

Re: Helix 7 G3N SI , DI question. [Re: z289sec] #13744099 10/26/20 12:28 PM
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 170
~
~Moose~ Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
~
Joined: Oct 2016
Posts: 170
Definitely a settings thing. Make sure you go into the setup tab and change the user mode to custom. This will give you some additional control over the settings. Then I suggest placing the unit in demo mode and experiment with your settings. Once you have it where you want it, go out on the water and you should be close. Just fine tune it according to the water clarity. You will have to do the same thing for SI. There are also several good youtube vids that go into detail regarding Helix settings.

Re: Helix 7 G3N SI , DI question. [Re: z289sec] #13744166 10/26/20 01:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,739
W
Wayne P. Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,739
Originally Posted by z289sec
I finally got my Helix to show arches in 2D, found and caught fish with it today. Had to put it in max mode on the switchfire, and dial the sensitivity way down.

Now, here is my question. When I mark them on 2D, and side by side it with DI, is it a setting that I'm missing, if it just looks like plankton or trash all over the whole screen? I've taken the sensitivity down to 4, and it still there. If I go further, it pretty much takes everything off the screen. So many crisp pics from other people's DI, and mine constantly looks like a screen full of trashy water. Also, other than dock supports and bridge pilings, I get nothing on the SI. Also a settings issue?


Your unit doesn't have true Down Imaging from a Down Imaging piezo in the transducer. The unit has simulated DI views (composite DI) created by blending the two SI pulses. Anything you see on DI is SI so all the "clutter" is from not only what is under the transducer, it's from the side coverage of SI also.


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N, 1198c SI, Helix 7 CHIRP MEGA SI GPS G3,
Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI, MEGA 360, RC-1
Re: Helix 7 G3N SI , DI question. [Re: Wayne P.] #13744371 10/26/20 05:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 398
Z
z289sec Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
Z
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 398
Originally Posted by Wayne P.
Originally Posted by z289sec
I finally got my Helix to show arches in 2D, found and caught fish with it today. Had to put it in max mode on the switchfire, and dial the sensitivity way down.

Now, here is my question. When I mark them on 2D, and side by side it with DI, is it a setting that I'm missing, if it just looks like plankton or trash all over the whole screen? I've taken the sensitivity down to 4, and it still there. If I go further, it pretty much takes everything off the screen. So many crisp pics from other people's DI, and mine constantly looks like a screen full of trashy water. Also, other than dock supports and bridge pilings, I get nothing on the SI. Also a settings issue?


Your unit doesn't have true Down Imaging from a Down Imaging piezo in the transducer. The unit has simulated DI views (composite DI) created by blending the two SI pulses. Anything you see on DI is SI so all the "clutter" is from not only what is under the transducer, it's from the side coverage of SI also.



Somewhere there must be a setting to clear it up. Ive seen plenty of images from others units, identical to mine without it though. Either that, or there is a problem with the transducer. Maybe that's why it doesn't mark fish in clear mode too, I don't know.

This is a MEGA unit, that doesn't have the actual down imaging either?

Last edited by z289sec; 10/27/20 03:48 AM.
Re: Helix 7 G3N SI , DI question. [Re: ~Moose~] #13744373 10/26/20 05:02 PM
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 398
Z
z289sec Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
Z
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 398
Originally Posted by ~Moose~
Definitely a settings thing. Make sure you go into the setup tab and change the user mode to custom. This will give you some additional control over the settings. Then I suggest placing the unit in demo mode and experiment with your settings. Once you have it where you want it, go out on the water and you should be close. Just fine tune it according to the water clarity. You will have to do the same thing for SI. There are also several good youtube vids that go into detail regarding Helix settings.



I have it in custom. Funny thing is, there is nothing even remotely close to that in DEMO mode. All images are crystal clear.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3