texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Steven Dunnavant, Goodtogo, BenBarber, R Garison, Bobthephysicist
114092 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 98,574
Pilothawk 80,525
John175☮ 77,868
Bigbob_FTW 68,924
JDavis7873 67,400
Derek 🐝 65,510
Mark Perry 61,374
Tritonman 59,010
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics1,135,339
Posts15,477,811
Members139,092
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Spot Lock maiden voyage #13738925 10/21/20 09:19 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
I finished the installation of my Terrova yesterday and took it out today crappie fishing around the bridge. Wind was up but not terrible and I fish out of a 18’ Bass Buggy pontoon.

I did not have the heading sensor hooked up but I understand that it only is used for the jog feature.

I liked pretty much all of the features of this trolling motor but the spot lock would drift 4-5 feet either side of the anchor spot, so I had to be a little more careful anchoring near the pylons ( I ran into one the first try and scratched the head of the motor as it corrected to one side).

Also two or three times when I was completely under the bridge it jogged to the left about 4-5 feet and nearly ran me into the bridge pylon.
Is this because it lost touch with the GPS signal? I never noticed a weak signal strength on the hand held remote.

Any suggestions on making it more accurate?

I really enjoyed fishing with it today and ended up catching 5-6 nice crappie


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13738942 10/21/20 09:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,348
44 Diesel Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,348
Try the "boat scale" setting at -2 and go from there

Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13739006 10/21/20 10:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
Do you think it will work better holding spot when I get the heading sensor hooked up and calibrated?

Is there a manual that goes into any more detail about tweaking the settings? It is almost like the motor is just responding too slowly to the drifting off of spot. It will eventually spool up some speed and move me back on spot but it seems very slow to respond. I can actually keep myself on spot better with the remote doing it myself, but that is not what I bought this for!!


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13739069 10/21/20 11:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,026
J
JIM SR. Online Sleepy
TFF Guru
Online Sleepy
TFF Guru
J
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,026

Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13739096 10/21/20 11:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,699
W
Wayne P. Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,699
Originally Posted by badgrandad
I finished the installation of my Terrova yesterday and took it out today crappie fishing around the bridge. Wind was up but not terrible and I fish out of a 18’ Bass Buggy pontoon.

I did not have the heading sensor hooked up but I understand that it only is used for the jog feature.

I liked pretty much all of the features of this trolling motor but the spot lock would drift 4-5 feet either side of the anchor spot, so I had to be a little more careful anchoring near the pylons ( I ran into one the first try and scratched the head of the motor as it corrected to one side).

Also two or three times when I was completely under the bridge it jogged to the left about 4-5 feet and nearly ran me into the bridge pylon.
Is this because it lost touch with the GPS signal? I never noticed a weak signal strength on the hand held remote.

Any suggestions on making it more accurate?

I really enjoyed fishing with it today and ended up catching 5-6 nice crappie


A bridge BLOCKS the GPS radio signals from the orbiting satellites. It can't be as accurate as when out in the open====common sense.


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N, 1198c SI, Helix 7 CHIRP MEGA SI GPS G3,
Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI, MEGA 360, RC-1
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: Wayne P.] #13739156 10/22/20 12:24 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
Originally Posted by Wayne P.
Originally Posted by badgrandad
I finished the installation of my Terrova yesterday and took it out today crappie fishing around the bridge. Wind was up but not terrible and I fish out of a 18’ Bass Buggy pontoon.

I did not have the heading sensor hooked up but I understand that it only is used for the jog feature.

I liked pretty much all of the features of this trolling motor but the spot lock would drift 4-5 feet either side of the anchor spot, so I had to be a little more careful anchoring near the pylons ( I ran into one the first try and scratched the head of the motor as it corrected to one side).

Also two or three times when I was completely under the bridge it jogged to the left about 4-5 feet and nearly ran me into the bridge pylon.
Is this because it lost touch with the GPS signal? I never noticed a weak signal strength on the hand held remote.

Any suggestions on making it more accurate?

I really enjoyed fishing with it today and ended up catching 5-6 nice crappie


A bridge BLOCKS the GPS radio signals from the orbiting satellites. It can't be as accurate as when out in the open====common sense.


I thought so, but the remote showed that the gps signal was strong


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13739264 10/22/20 01:38 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 21,570
D
Davedave Online Content
Bigfoot Seeker
Online Content
Bigfoot Seeker
D
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 21,570
I don’t spot lock under bridges. They can lose signal and go sort of crazy.

Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: Davedave] #13739338 10/22/20 02:39 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
Originally Posted by Davedave
I don’t spot lock under bridges. They can lose signal and go sort of crazy.


^^ This^^ is what happened a couple times and almost ran me into the concrete. I hairlipped the front of the TM head scuffing it against the pylon the first time I tried the spot lock and didn’t allow for the 4’ or so it can move off point


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13747724 10/29/20 07:49 AM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 91,616
hopalong Offline
Pumpkin Head
Offline
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 91,616
try resetting the compass if it lets you.

I have the garmin force and had to reset mine, I have to do a 360 while it calibrates and did it a lot slower than the first time. seemed to make it better for accuracy.

they all are going to drift 4-5' before they kick in to relocate so you just have to compensate for that.

Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13748137 10/29/20 03:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 566
I wired the heading sensor right before this cold weather hit so I hope to get out Monday or Tuesday and calibrate the sensor. Some of not most of my problems were user error until I figured out how it works. I am also going to settings and see if I can’t ramp up the response time to keep me closer to the anchor point. It wasn’t over-correcting, it was drifting off 6-7’ then re-anchoring itself in a new location that let me run into the bridge.


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3