texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
samuelsalarcon, telemaster12, Bc12point, FoxxyRed, Loos
116918 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 107,762
hopalong 104,676
Pilothawk 81,922
John175☮ 81,325
Bigbob_FTW 80,220
Derek 🐝 67,577
JDavis7873 67,408
Mark Perry 65,536
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,144,591
Posts15,519,448
Members141,918
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Spot Lock maiden voyage #13738925 10/21/20 09:19 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
I finished the installation of my Terrova yesterday and took it out today crappie fishing around the bridge. Wind was up but not terrible and I fish out of a 18’ Bass Buggy pontoon.

I did not have the heading sensor hooked up but I understand that it only is used for the jog feature.

I liked pretty much all of the features of this trolling motor but the spot lock would drift 4-5 feet either side of the anchor spot, so I had to be a little more careful anchoring near the pylons ( I ran into one the first try and scratched the head of the motor as it corrected to one side).

Also two or three times when I was completely under the bridge it jogged to the left about 4-5 feet and nearly ran me into the bridge pylon.
Is this because it lost touch with the GPS signal? I never noticed a weak signal strength on the hand held remote.

Any suggestions on making it more accurate?

I really enjoyed fishing with it today and ended up catching 5-6 nice crappie


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13738942 10/21/20 09:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,567
44 Diesel Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,567
Try the "boat scale" setting at -2 and go from there

Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13739006 10/21/20 10:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
Do you think it will work better holding spot when I get the heading sensor hooked up and calibrated?

Is there a manual that goes into any more detail about tweaking the settings? It is almost like the motor is just responding too slowly to the drifting off of spot. It will eventually spool up some speed and move me back on spot but it seems very slow to respond. I can actually keep myself on spot better with the remote doing it myself, but that is not what I bought this for!!


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13739069 10/21/20 11:11 PM
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,465
J
JIM SR. Online Sick
TFF Guru
Online Sick
TFF Guru
J
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,465

Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13739096 10/21/20 11:36 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,917
W
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,917
Originally Posted by badgrandad
I finished the installation of my Terrova yesterday and took it out today crappie fishing around the bridge. Wind was up but not terrible and I fish out of a 18’ Bass Buggy pontoon.

I did not have the heading sensor hooked up but I understand that it only is used for the jog feature.

I liked pretty much all of the features of this trolling motor but the spot lock would drift 4-5 feet either side of the anchor spot, so I had to be a little more careful anchoring near the pylons ( I ran into one the first try and scratched the head of the motor as it corrected to one side).

Also two or three times when I was completely under the bridge it jogged to the left about 4-5 feet and nearly ran me into the bridge pylon.
Is this because it lost touch with the GPS signal? I never noticed a weak signal strength on the hand held remote.

Any suggestions on making it more accurate?

I really enjoyed fishing with it today and ended up catching 5-6 nice crappie


A bridge BLOCKS the GPS radio signals from the orbiting satellites. It can't be as accurate as when out in the open====common sense.


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N and G4N, 1198c SI, SOLIX 10 SI G3,
Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI and G3, MEGA 360, MEGA LIVE, RC-1
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: Wayne P.] #13739156 10/22/20 12:24 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
Originally Posted by Wayne P.
Originally Posted by badgrandad
I finished the installation of my Terrova yesterday and took it out today crappie fishing around the bridge. Wind was up but not terrible and I fish out of a 18’ Bass Buggy pontoon.

I did not have the heading sensor hooked up but I understand that it only is used for the jog feature.

I liked pretty much all of the features of this trolling motor but the spot lock would drift 4-5 feet either side of the anchor spot, so I had to be a little more careful anchoring near the pylons ( I ran into one the first try and scratched the head of the motor as it corrected to one side).

Also two or three times when I was completely under the bridge it jogged to the left about 4-5 feet and nearly ran me into the bridge pylon.
Is this because it lost touch with the GPS signal? I never noticed a weak signal strength on the hand held remote.

Any suggestions on making it more accurate?

I really enjoyed fishing with it today and ended up catching 5-6 nice crappie


A bridge BLOCKS the GPS radio signals from the orbiting satellites. It can't be as accurate as when out in the open====common sense.


I thought so, but the remote showed that the gps signal was strong


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13739264 10/22/20 01:38 AM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 22,230
D
Davedave Offline
Bigfoot Seeker
Offline
Bigfoot Seeker
D
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 22,230
I don’t spot lock under bridges. They can lose signal and go sort of crazy.

Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: Davedave] #13739338 10/22/20 02:39 AM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
Originally Posted by Davedave
I don’t spot lock under bridges. They can lose signal and go sort of crazy.


^^ This^^ is what happened a couple times and almost ran me into the concrete. I hairlipped the front of the TM head scuffing it against the pylon the first time I tried the spot lock and didn’t allow for the 4’ or so it can move off point


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13747724 10/29/20 07:49 AM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 104,695
hopalong Online Confused
Pescador Loco
Online Confused
Pescador Loco
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 104,695
try resetting the compass if it lets you.

I have the garmin force and had to reset mine, I have to do a 360 while it calibrates and did it a lot slower than the first time. seemed to make it better for accuracy.

they all are going to drift 4-5' before they kick in to relocate so you just have to compensate for that.


" Hop, set the hook"!
hopalong 99,999
TexDawg 99,999
FJB! not my president by a long shot!

lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13748137 10/29/20 03:21 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
B
badgrandad Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 588
I wired the heading sensor right before this cold weather hit so I hope to get out Monday or Tuesday and calibrate the sensor. Some of not most of my problems were user error until I figured out how it works. I am also going to settings and see if I can’t ramp up the response time to keep me closer to the anchor point. It wasn’t over-correcting, it was drifting off 6-7’ then re-anchoring itself in a new location that let me run into the bridge.


Just because you can, doesn't mean you should!
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13841192 01/11/21 01:13 AM
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 856
Z
z289sec Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
Z
Joined: Aug 2020
Posts: 856
GPS is a satellite signal. Even though it may be receiving signal just fine, satellites work off of line of sight. I've never had much success locking under a bridge. A heading sensor may help, as it's a separate unit, specific to the task of positioning. The one inside the motor is a tiny part of the whole circuit. At least, that's what I was told by Minn Kota, when I called them about this same scenario.

Also, as you probably already know, make sure you're pointed into the wind when you lock.

Last edited by z289sec; 01/11/21 01:17 AM.
Re: Spot Lock maiden voyage [Re: badgrandad] #13841293 01/11/21 02:15 AM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,015
4
4Weight Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
4
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,015
Heading sensor is part of the whole program. I would use it


Aztec Anglers San Juan River Guide Service
www.aztecanglers.com
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3