Print Thread
Looking For Boat Repair #13725562 10/09/20 09:14 PM
B
Bentman63 Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
B
I just need to someone to see why when I use my charging bay the negative and positive wires to it get hot. And just to make sure it is all wired correctly in the back.
I am in Oak Cliff

[Linked Image]
Re: Looking For Boat Repair [Re: Bentman63] #13725904 10/10/20 04:32 AM
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
F
Bentman63, I've been boating for many decades, but I have never encountered a "charging bay". I guess you mean "the charger". As I stated before, you get heat wherever you have excess resistance. Excess resistance can be caused by several things: corrosion, loose connection, inadequate wire for the amps being drawn, or broken wire strands inside the insulation. A poorly crimped connection is a frequent cause (which doesn't make good electrical contact, resulting in the heat).

You provide a clue in that the charger wires get hot - both the POS and NEG it seems. I'm betting you have an improper installation that is causing this - and the issue exists at both battery terminals. It's possible the ring terminals have oxidation on them - it doesn't have to be visible rust to be an issue. Some people stack rings on a battery terminal, and if one or more rings have oxidation/corrosion, resistance will be high. This results in the wiring for the charger getting hot because the charger is dumping more amps trying to overcome the voltage drop.