texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
RYS Ministry, jtmac77, hslack, Garret288, RAY BOBBER
113760 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 97,073
hopalong 89,707
Pilothawk 80,175
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 67,130
Derek 🐝 64,934
Mark Perry 60,718
Tritonman 58,986
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics780,478
Posts9,903,465
Members113,760
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
REVISED: New Key Fob / Programmer installed #13687579 09/01/20 02:56 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,518
H
Holzer Offline OP
TFF Celebrity
OP Offline
TFF Celebrity
H
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,518
Sorry, I may have asked this question before but can't recall.

I need another key fob programmed.
I haven't done it yet because I know they have to plug into the computer of the truck to program the fob.

I have a programmer installed and don't want to screw anything up.

Should I have any concerns in having this done?
Disclaimer: I will NOT go to the dealership. So I would like to use a small garage / one of these guys advertising on facebook that do it out of their van.

Thoughts / Concerns?

Last edited by Holzer; 09/02/20 01:16 PM.

Holzer
My pic is gone frown
Re: New Key Fob / Programmer installed [Re: Holzer] #13687742 09/01/20 05:20 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 15,290
T
Trebor Neil Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
T
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 15,290
Had the same for my Mercury Mountaineer, needed extra fobs made, didn"t want to go to local dealer , took the time, drove to Wills Point Ford, In and out in a very few mins. correctly done and fairly inexpensive. Very nice considerate folks there.


You bettcha!
[Linked Image]
oofta!
Re: New Key Fob / Programmer installed [Re: Trebor Neil] #13687764 09/01/20 05:45 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,518
H
Holzer Offline OP
TFF Celebrity
OP Offline
TFF Celebrity
H
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,518
Originally Posted by Trebor Neil
Had the same for my Mercury Mountaineer, needed extra fobs made, didn"t want to go to local dealer , took the time, drove to Wills Point Ford, In and out in a very few mins. correctly done and fairly inexpensive. Very nice considerate folks there.



And you had a program/chip on your Mountaineer?


Holzer
My pic is gone frown
Re: New Key Fob / Programmer installed [Re: Holzer] #13687910 09/01/20 07:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,567
M
Mo Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,567
Check with Batteries plus Bulbs.


I saw they were selling fobs when I was in there ( Tyler location ) a few weeks ago. I assume they program them.


Mo



MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: New Key Fob / Programmer installed [Re: Holzer] #13688719 09/02/20 01:22 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,518
H
Holzer Offline OP
TFF Celebrity
OP Offline
TFF Celebrity
H
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,518
I must not have articulated my post in the manner I intended.

I don't need any assistance in finding a provider for a new key fob. I can find one within 5 miles of me in 60 seconds or less.


I have a aftermarket programmer installed.
I want to be sure that when the contractor plugs into the vehicles computer to program the new fob, that it doesn't mess with my programmer.

Sorry, I don't know what terminology to use other than program, programmer, chip. You know the thing that can do things like boost your horse power, increase fuel mileage, allows you to delete the emissions, blow black smoke, whatever else those things can do to an engine, etc.


Holzer
My pic is gone frown
Re: New Key Fob / Programmer installed [Re: Holzer] #13689459 09/03/20 01:39 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 400
D
DieselP2 Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
D
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 400
If it’s a ford we will not have to touch the programmer to program keys. Two completely different modules. If it was tuned with an ez lynk they will have to know how to “push” through the initiation sequence. Hope that helps

Wes

Re: New Key Fob / Programmer installed [Re: Holzer] #13689616 09/03/20 08:37 AM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 89,707
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 89,707
can you not reset to factory till after they are done?
I use a superchips flashpaq on my f150, reset to stock prior to any shop computer work. tell the dealer as well they may have a work around already.


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: New Key Fob / Programmer installed [Re: hopalong] #13689848 09/03/20 02:09 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,518
H
Holzer Offline OP
TFF Celebrity
OP Offline
TFF Celebrity
H
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,518
Originally Posted by hopalong
can you not reset to factory till after they are done?
I use a superchips flashpaq on my f150, reset to stock prior to any shop computer work. tell the dealer as well they may have a work around already.


I don't know I can switch back to factory. I don't see that selection on my tuner control.

I have tried the dealership once. Got the ya,ya, ya, as I expected when telling them everything. But then I broke out my phone and started a video because I wanted proof that if they mess something up that the dealership (dodge) would replace my engine. And then I got a totally different response. It was the "glad you told us about that", we can't guarantee...." So got my keys and left.


Holzer
My pic is gone frown
Re: New Key Fob / Programmer installed [Re: Holzer] #13690470 09/03/20 11:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 89,707
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 89,707
call whoever makes your tuner, I bet there is a stock setting for shop work.

the flashpaq specifically warns about that with the coyote engine.


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3