Print Thread
Need new places to catfish #13676080 08/21/20 10:05 PM
C
Chase McCallum Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
C
Hi I’m new to the midlothian area, my closest lakes are Joe Pool Lake and Lake Waxahachie, I live in the 76065 area and I’m looking for new places to fish, I’ve been going out fishing once every couple of days for the past few weeks and I’m barely catching anything, I’ll go out with 3-5 friends and we’ve all got several poles in the water but nothings biting, could anyone give me some tips or some good spots? We just wanna have a good time but it’s just starting to feel like a waste of time and money, thanks

Wet Rooster Jigs Fishing Super Store
Re: Need new places to catfish [Re: Chase McCallum] #13676334 08/22/20 02:01 AM
O
Osbornfishing Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
O
welcome When it is over 100 degrees it is tough fishing. Fish early and late. Look for areas where you can reach deep water (15 to 25 feet). Don’t ignore small community ponds. They can be good this time of year. You can search the Texas Parks andWildlife site to find community ponds in your area. Most importantly, hang in there a few more weeks. Fall is coming and the bite will improve.

Re: Need new places to catfish [Re: Chase McCallum] #13676422 08/22/20 03:40 AM
C
Catfish Lynn Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
C
Welcome to the TFF Chase!!! One suggestion is to utilize my Catfish Calendar. See the thread titled "Lynn's Catfish Calendar". Currently it is on page 3 & 6th from the bottom. August calendar was posted on 7-26-20. September will be up from somewhere between 31st & 2nd.

Not sure how far away is Lake Limestone (for you), even though not maybe down the street, it is probably like me, within an hours reach. We drop in at Running Branch Marina, on the west side accessing the lake via the Running Branch fork of the lake. Not sure if you are bank or boat fishing. Best if you had a boat, especially due to the heat.