texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
RYS Ministry, jtmac77, hslack, Garret288, RAY BOBBER
113760 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 97,069
hopalong 89,704
Pilothawk 80,175
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 67,130
Derek 🐝 64,930
Mark Perry 60,718
Tritonman 58,986
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics780,473
Posts9,903,326
Members113,760
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Lowrance Point One #13675094 08/21/20 12:53 AM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 70
sparkyorc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 70
Can you guys give me the advantages of adding a Lowrance Point One device to my electronic ? I have 2017 Gen 3 Lowrance units (12 at console and 8 on the bow). Thanks in advance for your help !

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: sparkyorc] #13675096 08/21/20 12:57 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,799
B
bassmanrudy Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,799
From what I've been told adding the point 1 ensures your map will stay pointed towards your waypoint. Otherwise you get the "hunting" effect. Mine will dang turn all the way around when facing a waypoint which is extremely frustrating!

Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: sparkyorc] #13675110 08/21/20 01:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,910
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,910
If you haven’t ever had your graph spinning in circles while staring at it, you don’t need a point1.

Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: sparkyorc] #13675114 08/21/20 01:09 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,454
Minner Bucket Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,454
If you are looking for precision and on time updates to your position, it’s a must! Brush pile fishing with out one is impossible! I only have one on my console graph and when trying to find a waypoint, I’m constantly going back to console graph to see where I’m pointing!

Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: sparkyorc] #13675132 08/21/20 01:23 AM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
E
Ekman Spiral Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
E
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 33
I shows you on your graph which way your boat is pointing without the need to be moving. It has an internal compass which allows you to see where your boat is pointed when standing still. I just mounted one and can’t believe I waited this long. Let’s say you mark a brush pile, go back to it with your heading sensor on and the point one will show you if your boat is pointed at the pile. Get within casting distance and hit the pile on the first cast. Offshore fishing just got easier. Needs switchable power when installing, connect to neama.

Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: bassmanrudy] #13675159 08/21/20 01:42 AM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 70
sparkyorc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 70
Thanks

Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: Minner Bucket] #13675310 08/21/20 04:11 AM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,091
shotgunwilly Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,091
Originally Posted by Minner Bucket
If you are looking for precision and on time updates to your position, it’s a must! Brush pile fishing with out one is impossible! I only have one on my console graph and when trying to find a waypoint, I’m constantly going back to console graph to see where I’m pointing!


Is your front graph not a lowrance?

Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: sparkyorc] #13675474 08/21/20 12:49 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,210
Fishinfellow Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,210
I installed one like 3 years ago and I've had the hardest time calibrating it. I've never been able to drive in a circle slow enough or accurately enough to officially calibrate it. It shows me driving sideways across the lake most days.


Thats my money fish
[Linked Image]
Kris Winhold
Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: Fishinfellow] #13675480 08/21/20 12:58 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 10,119
S
SteezMacQueen Online Happy
TFF Guru
Online Happy
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 10,119
Originally Posted by Fishinfellow
I installed one like 3 years ago and I've had the hardest time calibrating it. I've never been able to drive in a circle slow enough or accurately enough to officially calibrate it. It shows me driving sideways across the lake most days.

roflmao

Try turning circles on the trolling motor.


Eat. Sleep. Fish.
Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: Fishinfellow] #13675658 08/21/20 03:25 PM
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,091
shotgunwilly Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,091
Originally Posted by Fishinfellow
I installed one like 3 years ago and I've had the hardest time calibrating it. I've never been able to drive in a circle slow enough or accurately enough to officially calibrate it. It shows me driving sideways across the lake most days.


If you use Point 1 on your console graph while driving down the lake it can do some funny things. You don't need Point 1 at the console as you're not sitting still while in the cockpit. I keep my console graph extension on the GPS Course instead of the point 1. Front graph gets Heading Up from Point 1 so you can line up waypoints.

Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: SteezMacQueen] #13675671 08/21/20 03:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,210
Fishinfellow Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,210
Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
Originally Posted by Fishinfellow
I installed one like 3 years ago and I've had the hardest time calibrating it. I've never been able to drive in a circle slow enough or accurately enough to officially calibrate it. It shows me driving sideways across the lake most days.

roflmao

Try turning circles on the trolling motor.


I've tried that to, it times out! I've given up at this point. Sometimes I just don't plug in the NMEA and let them run on internal GPS lol.

I'll give that a try next time I'm on the lake Shotgun thanks!


Thats my money fish
[Linked Image]
Kris Winhold
Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: sparkyorc] #13675717 08/21/20 04:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 136
E
EJ3 Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
E
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 136
This may help those that are having challenges setting up console and bow graphs with Point 1:

https://youtu.be/Oh1YJUQeOxQ

He does a great job explaining how to set up both graphs properly.

Last edited by EJ3; 08/21/20 04:41 PM.
Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: sparkyorc] #13675847 08/21/20 06:21 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,611
SKEETER_MAN_225 Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,611
If you are an off shore fisherman like me you will love it! it keeps your gps map from spinning around and you can really dial in the location of your cast to structure. I only have it on the bow of my boat.


Pete B. Hernandez
Matthew 4:19

www.funnsunboats.com
Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: Minner Bucket] #13676141 08/21/20 11:11 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by Minner Bucket
If you are looking for precision and on time updates to your position, it’s a must! Brush pile fishing with out one is impossible! I only have one on my console graph and when trying to find a waypoint, I’m constantly going back to console graph to see where I’m pointing!

You only need ONE Point1 on your boat. It connects to the NMEA2000 network, and if all MFDs (the display box) are connected to the NMEA2000 network, you can get the advantage of the Point1 for all connected map displays.

As stated, having the Point1 will stop the map-spin problem that can develop when the boat is stationary, or virtually so. This map spin isn't a Lowrance defect; it's a fact of physics. When the boat is moving, the software can compare where the boat used to be with where it is "now". That lets it establish a line of travel, so it can adjust the map so that where you are going is at the top of the map, for instance. When you stop (or drift slowly), the software doesn't have meaningful points to compare. The Point1 has a magnetic sensor in addition to a GPS antenna. It is the magnetic sensor (compass) that gives the map software a frame of reference. If you install a Point1, be sure to go into any connected mapping graph and enable the external magnetic compass on the NMEA2000 network.

With respect to correcting map spin, the spin will be corrected whether you mount the Point1 at the bow or the stern of the boat - it will still correct map spin for any corrected unit (when properly configured).

Whether you mount the Point1 at the bow or the stern depends on how you use your equipment. When you save a waypoint, you are saving the location of the GPS receiver, not the location of the transducer. This will introduce a bit of error because the unit is often not over the transducer. A unit at the console could be almost 8 feet away from a transom mounted transducer, but a stern mounted Point1 is very close to the transom mounted transducer. If you save a lot of waypoints based on viewing the transom transducer, set the GPS antenna to the Point1 for the unit you use to save those waypoints.

If you save waypoints on a bow mounted unit for what you see with a trolling motor transducer, keep the GPS antenna for THAT unit selected to "internal" to get the best accuracy in actual waypoint location. Note that it is possible to set the GPS antenna to internal while setting the magnetic compass to "external". It's not an all or nothing choice. As I've shown, the setting choices are often not the same for all units on a boat when the goal is to get the best accuracy and performance from all units.

Re: Lowrance Point One [Re: SKEETER_MAN_225] #13676145 08/21/20 11:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by SKEETER_MAN_225
If you are an off shore fisherman like me you will love it! it keeps your gps map from spinning around and you can really dial in the location of your cast to structure. I only have it on the bow of my boat.

If you usually record waypoints using the console unit and transom transducers, you would get even more waypoint accuracy with the Point1 mounted at the stern. Use the Point1 GPS antenna for the console units, but continue to use the internal GPS antenna for the bow unit. When you view a stored waypoint while standing at the bow unit, you'll be given a much more accurate representation of where the actual waypoint is located (bearing and distance). The magnetic compass should be set to "remote" for all units.

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3