texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
SRL700, ramseyc, rwlchn, tkm1015, Joesfa
113754 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 97,064
hopalong 89,684
Pilothawk 80,172
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 67,104
Derek 🐝 64,924
Mark Perry 60,717
Tritonman 58,986
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics780,420
Posts9,902,614
Members113,754
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Question with Lowrance compatibility #13658218 08/06/20 05:45 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
P
Pantera III Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
I’m updating and moving some stuff around on my boat. Ok so I have an older hds 8 gen 1 that I may leave up front on the trolling motor. I also have a lss2 black box not being used. So I was curious if I could run a hdi transducer on the gen 1 via the lss2 box. I know that I can run a lss 2 transducer on it but wasn’t sure about the hdi. I don’t currently have an hdi transducer so I wanted make sure it would work before I pick one up. I’m trying to avoid covering up the 2 d transducer by installing a lss2.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658221 08/06/20 06:30 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
I think you are out of luck with the HDS Gen1 unit. The HDI transducer fits the "2D connector" (but uses pins that are not connected in the HDS Gen1). Since that connector is for "2D" it won't connect to the StructureScan module.(The connector on the SS modules is drastically different than the 2D connector.) But, HDS Gen1 doesn't support the HDI if I remember correctly. That started with HDS Gen2.

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658421 08/06/20 01:56 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
P
Pantera III Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
I do know that there are two different connectors for this transducer. On is the connection you mentioned and the other is the same as the lss2 transducer

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658547 08/06/20 04:07 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
I have an HDI transducer mounted on my Ultrex. I just went out and looked at it. It has a single blue connector that plugs into the "2D" sonar connector on the back of the HDS unit. I don't quite understand what you are saying about two connectors - the HDI transducer cable has only one connector on it.

Note that the HDI transducer is supported ONLY by HDS units that have built in StructureScan hardware. HDS Gen1 units do not have built in StructureScan hardware, so they have no way to give you downscan, even if you connect an HDI transducer to the unit. (I bet you can get the regular sonar image, but that's all you'll get.)

Likewise, the Lowrance StructureScan modules have ONLY a connector for StructureScan transducers, and no connector that will accept an HDI transducer. So you have no StructureScan in the HDS Gen1, and the LSS boxes will not accept HDI transducer connectors. No way to make it workie!

Therefore, you can't do what you are trying, or hoping, to do. If the bow unit was an HDS Gen2 Touch (or later), then it would have the SS hardware inside, and the HDI will work with that, giving you both 2D and DownScan images. If you happened to want to connect an HDI to a Live unit, you probably would need the 7-to-9 pin adapter, but it can be made to work also.

Last edited by Flippin-Out; 08/06/20 04:09 PM.
Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658574 08/06/20 04:39 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
P
Pantera III Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
I understand what you are saying. There are also hdi transducers with a 9 pin black connection like on an lss 2 transducer. I’m not sure how to post a link or I would. But a quick google search will show what I’m talking about.

Last edited by Pantera III; 08/06/20 04:47 PM.
Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658577 08/06/20 04:44 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,522
B
bronco71 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,522
first, I don't really know much about those but I thought that the LSS2 SS box provides the SS hardware?


1999 Triton TX21/225 Mercury Optimax
Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658585 08/06/20 04:50 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
P
Pantera III Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
Yes it should. I have only ever used it to connect an lss2 transducer though. But being how the hdi transducer I’m referring to has the same connection as the lss2 I’m thinking it would work

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658590 08/06/20 04:53 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,522
B
bronco71 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,522
I would hook it up on the deck and drop the transducer over the side and see what happens!


1999 Triton TX21/225 Mercury Optimax
Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: bronco71] #13658595 08/06/20 04:58 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by bronco71
first, I don't really know much about those but I thought that the LSS2 SS box provides the SS hardware?

It's call an "LSS" Module for "Lowrance StructureScan" Module. There is a DSP (Digital Signal Processing) Processor inside the box. It takes the signals from the LSS transducer, manipulates them into an image for a screen, and converts that into digital data that is then sent to the MFD (Multi-Function Display) via the Ethernet cable.

HDS Gen 1 units had no LSS hardware inside the MFD, hence the need for that external box. In that generation of the technology, it would have been difficult to squeeze it all into the MFD without making the case for it a good bit larger. As it was very expensive at the time, not all anglers had a need for SS, so having that hardware in a separate box was a way to keep the market entry price lower.

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658617 08/06/20 05:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by Pantera III
I understand what you are saying. There are also hdi transducers with a 9 pin black connection like on an lss 2 transducer. I’m not sure how to post a link or I would. But a quick google search will show what I’m talking about.

I saw the "new" HDI transducer. The body of the transducer module is blue, right?
That connector is not what you think it is. It is for the the new 9-pin 2D sonar connection on the Live units.
Lowrance SKU: 000-12570-00 allows a user to connect an HDI transducer to a Live unit without the necessity of having the 7-to-9 pin adapter cable.

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658619 08/06/20 05:14 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
P
Pantera III Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
Well I don’t have a hdi transducer but was thinking of picking up with the black 9 pin connection. Was just curious as to if it would work before I bought one.

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658682 08/06/20 06:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,908
G
grout-scout Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,908
No, the HDI will NOT work with a gen1 or gen2 button model, no matter the circumstances or hardware added. The HDI WILL work with gen2 Touch models and newer.

Your only options are the lss module (required on gen1 & gen2 button models) and a lss1/lss2. A lss1 transducer is shorter than the lss2 and you should be able to still use your 2d ducer on the TM.

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13658731 08/06/20 07:03 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
P
Pantera III Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
Alright. Thanks guys

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13659196 08/07/20 02:45 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by Pantera III
Well I don’t have a hdi transducer but was thinking of picking up with the black 9 pin connection. Was just curious as to if it would work before I bought one.

I told you no multiple times in multiple ways, and why (not just "no"). Grout-Scout knows Lowrance extremely well, so I consider this one a wrap......

Re: Question with Lowrance compatibility [Re: Pantera III] #13659204 08/07/20 02:59 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
P
Pantera III Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
P
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 256
That you did sir

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3