texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Verdadero, coolpapabill, Samt74, romclark, TJP81
114387 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 99,623
hopalong 93,126
Pilothawk 80,626
John175☮ 78,350
Bigbob_FTW 70,365
JDavis7873 67,400
Derek 🐝 65,883
Mark Perry 61,800
Tritonman 59,017
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics1,137,566
Posts15,532,337
Members139,386
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: hopalong] #13655336 08/03/20 11:37 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,579
D
Dubee Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
D
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,579
Originally Posted by hopalong
Originally Posted by Dubee
My 2 93sv's are 4-5 years old. The maps look like someone gave a 6yr old the outline of lakes and said draw a bunch of squiggly lines. Not even close to what is there.



which map screen are you in?

navigation shows very few contours, fishing on my 2 93sv plus (non hd) do a good job on fork.

I am going to upgrade to the ultra maps soon tho, sounds like they are about the same as navionics platinum.

Not sure what you mean. I only navigation or 3d. No fishing map unless it's hidden somewhere

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: Dubee] #13655616 08/04/20 03:51 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,193
S
SC-001 Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
S
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,193
Originally Posted by Dubee
Originally Posted by hopalong
Originally Posted by Dubee
My 2 93sv's are 4-5 years old. The maps look like someone gave a 6yr old the outline of lakes and said draw a bunch of squiggly lines. Not even close to what is there.



which map screen are you in?

navigation shows very few contours, fishing on my 2 93sv plus (non hd) do a good job on fork.

I am going to upgrade to the ultra maps soon tho, sounds like they are about the same as navionics platinum.

Not sure what you mean. I only navigation or 3d. No fishing map unless it's hidden somewhere


You need to dowload the latest update to your unit, they're free on the garmin website, navigation map used to be more detailed than the fishing map, its flip flopped with the latest updates. Its nowhere near as detailed as navionics but its better than nothing.

Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: joho5] #13655713 08/04/20 12:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 26,872
C
CCTX Online Content
mapquest
Online Content
mapquest
C
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 26,872
Now that Garmin owns Navionics, can you just download all the maps to a WiFi Garmin unit like you can to your phone?


[Linked Image]
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: CCTX] #13656406 08/04/20 08:32 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
Originally Posted by CCTX
Now that Garmin owns Navionics, can you just download all the maps to a WiFi Garmin unit like you can to your phone?




have to buy the card, lakevu 3g is what comes with the units, 3g ultra is similar to navionics platinum from what I have been told.

this chart shows the difference in the two


https://www.navionics.com/usa/charts-garmin?charts=LakeVug3Ultra


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: Dubee] #13656409 08/04/20 08:33 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
Originally Posted by Dubee
Originally Posted by hopalong
Originally Posted by Dubee
My 2 93sv's are 4-5 years old. The maps look like someone gave a 6yr old the outline of lakes and said draw a bunch of squiggly lines. Not even close to what is there.



which map screen are you in?

navigation shows very few contours, fishing on my 2 93sv plus (non hd) do a good job on fork.

I am going to upgrade to the ultra maps soon tho, sounds like they are about the same as navionics platinum.

Not sure what you mean. I only navigation or 3d. No fishing map unless it's hidden somewhere




go to charts, it should show navigation, fishing and 3d.

be sure you have the latest updates


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: joho5] #13656425 08/04/20 08:45 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,209
B
Bass Buster1 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,209
My units are about 5 or 6 years old and my maps are terrible. I bought the upgrade at the time and they are still terrible. Guess I need to upgrade to newer units.


See you on the lake and have a great day!
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: hopalong] #13656506 08/04/20 09:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,579
D
Dubee Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
D
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,579
Originally Posted by hopalong
Originally Posted by Dubee
Originally Posted by hopalong
Originally Posted by Dubee
My 2 93sv's are 4-5 years old. The maps look like someone gave a 6yr old the outline of lakes and said draw a bunch of squiggly lines. Not even close to what is there.



which map screen are you in?

navigation shows very few contours, fishing on my 2 93sv plus (non hd) do a good job on fork.

I am going to upgrade to the ultra maps soon tho, sounds like they are about the same as navionics platinum.

Not sure what you mean. I only navigation or 3d. No fishing map unless it's hidden somewhere




go to charts, it should show navigation, fishing and 3d.

be sure you have the latest updates


All i have is navigation and 3d. I'm a techno idiot that doesn't own a computer. So no upgrading for me

Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: joho5] #13656553 08/04/20 10:01 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
you update with active capt. app on your phone, super easy and idiot proof.


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: hopalong] #13656561 08/04/20 10:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,022
J
joho5 Offline OP
TFF Team Angler
OP Offline
TFF Team Angler
J
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,022
Originally Posted by hopalong
you update with active capt. app on your phone, super easy and idiot proof.

Can I buy one g3 ultra update and it be used on both my units?

Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: Dubee] #13656775 08/05/20 12:42 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,193
S
SC-001 Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
S
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,193
Originally Posted by Dubee


All i have is navigation and 3d. I'm a techno idiot that doesn't own a computer. So no upgrading for me


You can buy the latest upgrade card https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/27597
Honestly if you don't own a computer theres no reason to buy these modern electronics, your only getting a fraction out of them that you could over their life without upgrading with updates.

Last edited by SC-001; 08/05/20 12:42 AM.
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: SC-001] #13656838 08/05/20 01:18 AM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,579
D
Dubee Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
D
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 3,579
Originally Posted by SC-001
Originally Posted by Dubee


All i have is navigation and 3d. I'm a techno idiot that doesn't own a computer. So no upgrading for me


You can buy the latest upgrade card https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/27597
Honestly if you don't own a computer theres no reason to buy these modern electronics, your only getting a fraction out of them that you could over their life without upgrading with updates.

That's why i don't have the newest and greatest. I replaced a couple of tiny 20 year old units with cheap 93's. I would like to have decent maps on them though

Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: SC-001] #13657803 08/05/20 08:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
Originally Posted by SC-001
Originally Posted by Dubee


All i have is navigation and 3d. I'm a techno idiot that doesn't own a computer. So no upgrading for me


You can buy the latest upgrade card https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/27597
Honestly if you don't own a computer theres no reason to buy these modern electronics, your only getting a fraction out of them that you could over their life without upgrading with updates.



don't need a puter for garmin, all updates and downloads are thru the app on the phone. not even sure if you can update thru a micro card, maps I know upgrade with a card like navionics.


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: joho5] #13657990 08/05/20 11:35 PM
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 467
L
Lone_Wolf Online Content
Angler
Online Content
Angler
L
Joined: Jun 2017
Posts: 467
I updated mine through a card but its like a 2015 or '16 year model unit

Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: Lone_Wolf] #13658385 08/06/20 01:23 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 93,131
Originally Posted by Lone_Wolf
I updated mine through a card but its like a 2015 or '16 year model unit



don't think the newer models allow that, at least mine only have one slot and I have to have that one in for the unit to work (think it acts as storage for some stuff)


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Lake maps on Echomap 73 and 93. [Re: joho5] #13658543 08/06/20 04:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,193
S
SC-001 Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
S
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,193

Page 2 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3