texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
JacksonR, Christopher Ray, Bigphish, JenGue, HitEmTrue
113466 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 96,202
hopalong 88,491
Pilothawk 79,978
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 66,097
Derek 🐝 64,574
Mark Perry 60,419
Tritonman 58,943
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics777,107
Posts9,855,103
Members113,466
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Garmin set-up on the bow #13635287 07/18/20 06:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 340
N
n_fish Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
N
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 340
I’m currently running (2) Lowrance HDS12 GEN3’s, console and bow. I’m considering adding Garmin set-up with LiveScope at the bow. I’d like to know what unit/transducer combo your using and why if some of you are doing this with another brand up front. I’d like some first hand knowledge before I go drop some coin. I’d also like to hear about LiveScope versus Perspective View if you have some insight please.

Thanks in advance

Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: n_fish] #13635619 07/19/20 02:12 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,946
R
ring fry Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
R
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 5,946
I've got a GPSmap 12" (Livescope) and a 10" Ultra (54 UHD) on the bow with a 10" GPSmap and Echomap 73 plus at the console. The GPSmaps are linked so the backseater can see the Livescope. I have the Perspective mount but don't use it that much. I have not used it during spawn though. That could be interesting. smile I really like this set up.

Retired Grass Grower


2008 NCAA Mens Basketball Champions
GO JAYHAWKS

Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: n_fish] #13635631 07/19/20 02:31 AM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 164
T
TomRom Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 164
I got rid of my lowrance gen 3 touch and replaced them with Garmin' Echomap Ultra 122 with LiveScope. There is a big difference in quality of picture plus Garmins are so easy to use. Even if the latest Lowrance are the same quality, I would switch to Garmins because they are so much easier to use.. Garmin technical reps told me the biggest issue with problems have to to due with installation problems. I had mine installed at an authorized dealer and I have had zero problems,

Last edited by TomRom; 07/19/20 02:35 AM.
Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: TomRom] #13638736 07/21/20 07:02 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 340
N
n_fish Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
N
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 340
I’ll look into that and thanks for the info.

Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: n_fish] #13638869 07/21/20 08:18 PM
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,885
BlueNitro Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 6,885
Please feel free to call me at 469-853-5389 and I would be happy to answer any of your questions. You can even jump on my boat and I can show what it is all about.


LiftSaver Trolling Motor Mounting Bracket - Patent Pending and LiftSaver Transducer Pole Mount
www.liftsavertmmount.com
[Linked Image][Linked Image]
Works with MG Xi5, Xi3 and MK Terrova, Ulterra, PD V2 and Riptides as well.

Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: BlueNitro] #13639473 07/22/20 10:14 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 340
N
n_fish Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
N
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 340
I’ll give you a call Nitro, thanks

Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: n_fish] #13639658 07/22/20 01:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 88,491
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 88,491
you can buy garmin with no transducer or maps for a whole lot cheaper then just hook up livescope.

I have 2 93sv plus (bow/console) and got a 92 head unit only for panoptix livescope.


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: hopalong] #13640693 07/23/20 12:35 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 663
D
Double Row Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
D
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 663
Originally Posted by hopalong
you can buy garmin with no transducer or maps for a whole lot cheaper then just hook up livescope.

I have 2 93sv plus (bow/console) and got a 92 head unit only for panoptix livescope.



n_fish I hope you don't mind me asking a few questions on your thread.

If I just want a Garmin for Livescope use only on the bow, Should I buy it with or without a GT54UHD-TM Transducer? Could it be used with both the GT54UHD-TM Transducer and the livescope transducer, or will only one connect at a time? What about their maps? If I am only using this for Livescope, do I need any maps at all? If neither maps nor standard transducer are needed, should I spend that money to go to a larger screen Garmin? I am looking at the ECHOMAP™ Ultra 126sv for the bow. I already have a Humminbird Solix 12 on the console with mapping. Thanks for the help.

Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: Double Row] #13642020 07/23/20 11:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 340
N
n_fish Online Content OP
Angler
OP Online Content
Angler
N
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 340
I’m considering leaving my HDS12 GEN3 at the bow for sonar,DI, and maps. What do you think?

Thanks

I’m looking at a 1222 gps/chart plotter as well to run the LiveScope on as well and leave my Lowrance unit up front as well.

Last edited by n_fish; 07/23/20 11:12 PM.
Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: Double Row] #13642103 07/24/20 12:24 AM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 88,491
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 88,491
Originally Posted by Double Row
Originally Posted by hopalong
you can buy garmin with no transducer or maps for a whole lot cheaper then just hook up livescope.

I have 2 93sv plus (bow/console) and got a 92 head unit only for panoptix livescope.



n_fish I hope you don't mind me asking a few questions on your thread.

If I just want a Garmin for Livescope use only on the bow, Should I buy it with or without a GT54UHD-TM Transducer? Could it be used with both the GT54UHD-TM Transducer and the livescope transducer, or will only one connect at a time? What about their maps? If I am only using this for Livescope, do I need any maps at all? If neither maps nor standard transducer are needed, should I spend that money to go to a larger screen Garmin? I am looking at the ECHOMAP™ Ultra 126sv for the bow. I already have a Humminbird Solix 12 on the console with mapping. Thanks for the help.



pretty sure you can run panoptix and the gt54, probably side by side as well. I already had 2 93sv plus and the force has the uhd ducer so all my bases are covered and I can run a full 9" for each. if you are planning on a dedicated shaft for the livescope ducer you could run the gt54 on the tm you can put both on the tm but risk interference. only had mine out twice now and still have to figure some stuff out. awesome to have tho.


that 126 will have an excellent picture with livescope.

Last edited by hopalong; 07/24/20 12:25 AM.

" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: n_fish] #13642110 07/24/20 12:33 AM
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 164
T
TomRom Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
T
Joined: Oct 2019
Posts: 164
I have the Echomap Ultra 122 on the bow. 126 on the console. I had Gen 3's which I took off. After using the Garmin compared to the Gen 3, I would only use the Gen 3 for the mapping function if I left it on. There is no comparison between the Garmin Echomap Ultra and Gen 3 in sonar, downscale or side scan. Now the new Lowrance top end unit might be able to compete, but not the HDS Gen 3. Just my observation. Also I have no power issues with just running Garmin's. With the 12 inch I set up a combo screen with the livescope on the top half and the fishing chart on the bottom half. The outline of the livescope area of coverage is super imposed on the fishing chart which I think is pretty cool.

Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: n_fish] #13642611 07/24/20 02:39 PM
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 217
T
ThaDudeAbides Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
T
Joined: Sep 2019
Posts: 217
If i'm spending someone else's money, i'm buying a Garmin GPS map 1222 and only use the livescope transducer at the bow. the knob on the GPS map units make livescope adjustments easy. i really don't see any value in adding additional transducers or even a second screen to the bow. raise that unit up as high as you can get it.

my decision was to use a bird at the console because i wanted mega SI. i have to do a little work to sync waypoints between the units using the Active Captain (garmin) and Fishsmart (Bird) apps but it is only a little inconvenience. i think the UHD units now are much closer to Mega technology but several still think bird has the advantage. my helix 10 Gen 2 bird was an inch bigger and a cheaper than the Garmin UHD 9.

BTW the Garmins are SO EASY to use and the customer support is top notch. Call BBG Marine or Shut up and Fish to get some real details and advice.


THUMP 2020
Re: Garmin set-up on the bow [Re: n_fish] #13648492 07/29/20 04:47 AM
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 466
L
Longtine Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 466
I have Garmin EchoMap Ultra 126's on bow and console. I could not imagine anything less than a 12 on the bow. My eyes aint what they use to be. If I were going to pic a place to put a smaller one it would be the console and the larger on front. Especially with LS. Garmin units to me are about as good as they get and so easy to use.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3