texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
tharsh, Gabby M.C., schtj5, Just joking, RexLund
114119 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 98,660
Pilothawk 80,531
John175☮ 77,894
Bigbob_FTW 69,033
JDavis7873 67,400
Derek 🐝 65,539
Mark Perry 61,384
Tritonman 59,010
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics1,135,677
Posts15,482,781
Members139,119
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Designated battery for electronics #13630079 07/14/20 01:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,662
M
Mo Offline OP
TFF Guru
OP Offline
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,662
My starting battery gets weak by the end of the day. Running air pump and recirculating live well pump.,
two 12 inch graphs , one nine inch. After 4-5 hours the graphs shut down when I start the big motor.
I am sure part of the problem is I am never running very far between stop. I will rarely run over a quart to half mile .

If I decide to add another battery, should it need deep cycle.?
Mo


Last edited by Mo; 07/14/20 01:27 PM.


MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: Designated battery for electronics [Re: Mo] #13630154 07/14/20 02:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
Do you ever use sleep mode on the two 12 inch graphs when you aren't sitting at the console? That would be a good step 1 to a solution that doesn't add so much weight to the boat.
What age is the battery, and what are its' specs? Is there possibly a more powerful battery you could use? If you aren't already using a honkin' Group 31 battery for the main battery, I'd suggest trying that first.
BTW, I've never seen an air pump (meaning bubbler with air-stone type) that used over 1/4th of an Amp, so having that particular item on is lost in the noise of the power you are using. It's a toss up on pumps or the 12" graphs. I'd bet a 12" graph pulls about as much power as a livewell pump.

If you want a battery for electronics, pumps, etc. only, then deep cycle is the right choice.
If you also want it as a back-up battery to start your outboard, then you need a "dual purpose" battery as a best fit.

You didn't say what motor you have, so I have no idea of the amps you need for starting, which handicaps me a bit. There is one more option for adding an extra battery that involves one very heavy duty battery, one small but adequate starting-only battery, and a battery switch. Depending on the battery you have now, and its age, I'd suggest you look at what you might change about a single battery setup first (with habit change also). Which brand electronics do you use?

Last edited by Flippin-Out; 07/14/20 02:15 PM.
Re: Designated battery for electronics [Re: Mo] #13630232 07/14/20 03:07 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,662
M
Mo Offline OP
TFF Guru
OP Offline
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,662
Thanks for the reply. , just checked my starting battery. 4 years old, only had 3/4 charge after being on charge over night. ,

Going to replace it , see how it goes.

Mo



MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: Designated battery for electronics [Re: Mo] #13630262 07/14/20 03:37 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
Look at the specs of that battery, and try to get even more "reserve capacity" if you can, and certainly Group 31. This would be your chance to make the right change to make one battery work if that's possible.
Try the sleep or low-power mode for your 12" screens. With Lowrance, the unit will return to full-brightness and operation instantly with no need to boot up. I don't know about other brands.

In time, if the above doesn't work for you, ding me and I'll tell you how I'd rig for two batteries.

Re: Designated battery for electronics [Re: Flippin-Out] #13630478 07/14/20 05:45 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,700
W
Wayne P. Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,700
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Look at the specs of that battery, and try to get even more "reserve capacity" if you can, and certainly Group 31. This would be your chance to make the right change to make one battery work if that's possible.
Try the sleep or low-power mode for your 12" screens. With Lowrance, the unit will return to full-brightness and operation instantly with no need to boot up. I don't know about other brands.

In time, if the above doesn't work for you, ding me and I'll tell you how I'd rig for two batteries.


Humminbirds have a Standby mode that does the instant start-up like that.


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N, 1198c SI, Helix 7 CHIRP MEGA SI GPS G3,
Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI, MEGA 360, RC-1
Re: Designated battery for electronics [Re: Mo] #13630714 07/14/20 08:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
I figured it did, I just wasn't familiar enough to say. I checked the 12" HDS Carbon specs out of curiousity, all at 13.8V, so the amperage could be a bit higher if the voltage at the unit is lower than that. Max amps is 2.3, typical is 2, and Standby is less than 720 mA, or 0.720 A. That standby is a whopping ~66% reduction in power from what it might be doing in normal mode. THAT is a huge savings, especially with two of them at the console that could be put in standby while fishing. The biggest thing it does is turn the display backlight off. From what I understand, the transducers don't even stop pinging, so if you want stealth, you need to do more than go into standby mode.

Re: Designated battery for electronics [Re: Mo] #13630797 07/14/20 09:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 168
S
SAdoc Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 168
Will graphs share waypoints (Ie save on both units) by NMEA if one is in standby mode ( specifically a Lowrance TI and TI2 in my case).

Re: Designated battery for electronics [Re: Mo] #13630823 07/14/20 09:36 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
I am not sure. But, when you power the second one back up, the update should happen very quickly (within seconds). (This scenario is the same as having one unit powered down for a period of time.) You could easily test that theory out on the water to let us know!

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3