texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Chaycemdown, Jadams446, Fishnobi, 1bg, rbishop57
113448 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 96,159
hopalong 88,411
Pilothawk 79,965
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 66,039
Derek 🐝 64,571
Mark Perry 60,416
Tritonman 58,942
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics776,904
Posts9,852,470
Members113,447
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Livescope transducer cable #13621765 07/07/20 03:22 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,049
8
8upwithfishin' Offline OP
Extreme Angler
OP Offline
Extreme Angler
8
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,049
Already googled, but need to know how big of hole is needed for the connector end and what are you using to cover hole? Do they make a clam shell that big? Thx in advance.

Re: Livescope transducer cable [Re: 8upwithfishin'] #13621820 07/07/20 07:04 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,888
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,888
My google must be different than yours. I got the Panoptix Livescope installation instructions that included a step saying that a 1 1/4 inch holesaw is needed to drill a pass-through hole.

There may be a clamshell that covers that, but that still lets water in, and exposes the layers of whatever you drilled through. I'm handy with tools, so I've made several cable covers using a piece of 1/2 inch starboard, typically cut at 2" x 2" or so. I use a router and round-over bit to put a nice dressed bevel on the top edges of the block. On the underside, I route a channel the diameter of the cable, or slightly larger if I want the cable to be able to slide in/out. I countersink screws in 4 corners, and poof, I've got a nice cable hole cover. I've seen some sold for $20+, which is ridiculous for what it is, but I like mine better.

Re: Livescope transducer cable [Re: 8upwithfishin'] #13659362 Yesterday at 11:52 AM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,471
M
Mo Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,471
That is a great idea.
I have a new project. 😀

I know I have some scrap starboard somewhere,
Thanks
Mo



MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: Livescope transducer cable [Re: 8upwithfishin'] #13659803 Yesterday at 06:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 470
Aaron Towner Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 470
I use two step bits to work up to the size desired, then cover with the clamshell or black plastic cover.


Texas Boat Works
Wiring Upgrades, Electronics and Maintenance
940.867.0465
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3