texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Coonbaitmoore, Matt Webb, RollTide1, TryingToBeAfisherman, TXKenpo
113217 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 95,568
hopalong 87,608
Pilothawk 79,892
John175☮ 77,594
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 65,461
Derek 🐝 64,384
Mark Perry 60,221
Tritonman 58,917
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics782,773
Posts9,876,698
Members113,217
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance Live on a LSS-2 ducer? Will it work? #13596840 06/16/20 03:55 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 939
rkd Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 939
Have a brand new HDS Live 9 that came with 3-1 Active Imaging ducer. I have an LSS-2 ducer already installed. Has anyone run the Live unit on an LSS-2 ducer and if so, did everything work appropriately? Just wanting to save time and a little $$ by replacing the two ducers if all I'm getting are nominal differences. I already have to get a 7-pin to 9-pin converter for the plug ins but that's easy and cheap.

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Lowrance Live on a LSS-2 ducer? Will it work? [Re: rkd] #13596922 06/16/20 05:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,630
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,630
Call Lowrance, or one of the dealers who's active on TFF to find out if it "works" or if there are advantages you wouldn't want to lose with the newer one.....

Re: Lowrance Live on a LSS-2 ducer? Will it work? [Re: rkd] #13596952 06/16/20 05:40 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 939
rkd Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 939
Rob with Lowrance has been helpful. He's checking into it. Right off the bat he said about the only thing that would be a little different is the Sidescan capabilities. The newer ducer will allow sidescan to run at 800khz. I think he said it would mean higher definition in deeper water. I just wanted to see if anyone on here had actually tried it. For a slight difference in sidescan imaging I will just keep the Lss2 ducer. I'm not very good with sidescan to begin with. The housing on the unit is wider so I am going to have to cut into the face plate. And I'm going to have to get a 7-pin to 9-pin adapter.

Re: Lowrance Live on a LSS-2 ducer? Will it work? [Re: rkd] #13597261 06/16/20 09:30 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 6,862
0
04champ Offline
TFF Celebrity
Offline
TFF Celebrity
0
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 6,862
it's not really an apples to apples comparison, but the short answer is HDS Live does support the LSS2. What was your motivation to spend the money on the Live if you didn't want the better transducer?

Both transducers do 455kHz and 800kHz side scan and 455kHz downscan, but the AI 3 in 1 is two generations improved and has the 2D integrated. Installing it shouldn't take but 30 min. Pull a wire or string connected to the connector on the graph end, tie the new connector to it and pull it back.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3