texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
CRosen, Rey Basser, Brandontmac, SMDB, Douglasdzaster
113742 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 97,033
hopalong 89,663
Pilothawk 80,164
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 67,051
Derek 🐝 64,906
Mark Perry 60,704
Tritonman 58,982
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics780,308
Posts9,900,851
Members113,742
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Replace Hook2 5 with what? #13589655 06/10/20 01:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 279
6
603Country Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
6
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 279
Recently I had Garmin livescope units installed. About that, I am happy. The electronics prior to that were Hook2 5, and they remain on the boat. The front unit, a Hook2 5 Splitshot, needs a new transducer (my fault), and I’m thinking that rather than a new transducer, maybe just spend a bit more money and get a better replacement. So...

What would you folks suggest for the front unit that would be a worthwhile partner to the Garmin livescope? The case could be made that why would I need anything more than the Garmin, but I’m thinking that you more schooled fisherman might have opinions I need to hear.

Re: Replace Hook2 5 with what? [Re: 603Country] #13591853 06/11/20 11:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 157
S
SAdoc Online Content
Outdoorsman
Online Content
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 157
My boat came with a hook 7 and Hook2 7. I unpgraded the console to an Elite Ti Last fall, then about 6 months later upgraded to a TI2 On the bow. I like being able to choose a fishing depth and shallow water level. The touchscreen is much easier to use than the buttons on the Hooks. Tonight I’m connecting the front unit to my NMEA network so I can save waypoints on both at the same time. ( pretty sure if they were both Ti2s I wouldn’t need the cable). To me, the Elite units were a significant upgrade compared to the Hooks.

I have a Garmin unit on the bow with Livescope and just use the front Elite TI2 for mapping and saving waypoints. I guess I could do both with the garmin, but I like looking at the map while panning around with the livescope.

Re: Replace Hook2 5 with what? [Re: 603Country] #13592017 06/12/20 01:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 279
6
603Country Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
6
Joined: Jul 2015
Posts: 279
Thanks. That sounds about like what I’ll wind up doing. I just need to decide on the new unit. I had an Elite 7 on the previous boat and preferred it to the Hook2 5 units. And the Garmins have made me like touch screens, so I suppose I’ll need 7” or 9” touch screens - by ?

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3