texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
ThumppJunkie, MGH15, Majoranger, Ol Thumper, FishingHouYW
114134 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 98,662
hopalong 91,634
Pilothawk 80,535
John175☮ 77,923
Bigbob_FTW 69,105
JDavis7873 67,400
Derek 🐝 65,574
Mark Perry 61,399
Tritonman 59,010
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics1,135,885
Posts15,485,660
Members139,133
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
HDS 7 won’t power up properly? #13585165 06/06/20 02:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
lakeforkfisherman Online Happy OP
Elliptical Mechanic
OP Online Happy
Elliptical Mechanic
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
After installing Ultrex, the graph won’t fire up. Anyone have a suggestion? Thank you.



I approve of this message.
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13585362 06/06/20 07:57 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
H
honey hole Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 116
Check voltage and connections at the back of the graph. Assuming no wires got pulled or any screws through them on the ultrex install...

Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: honey hole] #13585618 06/07/20 12:43 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
lakeforkfisherman Online Happy OP
Elliptical Mechanic
OP Online Happy
Elliptical Mechanic
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
Originally Posted by honey hole
Check voltage and connections at the back of the graph. Assuming no wires got pulled or any screws through them on the ultrex install...

Thanks. Was connected by a boat dealership. Just don’t understand what went wrong.


I approve of this message.
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13585820 06/07/20 06:59 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
If the unit appears "dead as a door-nail" then I suspect they may have inadvertently caused a brief short on some exposed terminals when they had the bow open to install the TM. This would typically blow a fuse, but not usually one in-line with the power cord. That power cord ties into power somewhere at the front panel, and that's where a brief short can happen. The fuse/breaker could be at the console, or at the battery under the back deck. Start checking for tripped breakers (if that's what you have) or blown fuses.

Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13586945 06/08/20 11:46 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
lakeforkfisherman Online Happy OP
Elliptical Mechanic
OP Online Happy
Elliptical Mechanic
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
Thanks. It’s not dead. It comes on and flickers LOWRANCE on and off. I can’t turn that off with the power button. I have to unplug the unit. Didn’t start until after the Ultrex install.Maybe taking it back to the dealer.


I approve of this message.
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13587451 06/08/20 05:42 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 91,634
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 91,634
yep, take it back, sounds like you now have a bad power connection (probably just knocked a wire loose)


" Hop, set the hook"!


lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13587535 06/08/20 06:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,577
B
bronco71 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,577
You can bring it to my house and we can put it on my boat to see if it powers up ok, if so you will know it is the wiring....


1999 Triton TX21/225 Mercury Optimax
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: bronco71] #13587876 06/09/20 12:20 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
lakeforkfisherman Online Happy OP
Elliptical Mechanic
OP Online Happy
Elliptical Mechanic
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
Originally Posted by bronco71
You can bring it to my house and we can put it on my boat to see if it powers up ok, if so you will know it is the wiring....

Awesome offer! I’ll pm you.


I approve of this message.
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13590532 06/11/20 12:52 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
lakeforkfisherman Online Happy OP
Elliptical Mechanic
OP Online Happy
Elliptical Mechanic
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
BIG THANKS to Bronco71 that lives about 3 miles from me. We hooked up the HDS7 worked like a charm, so I definitely have a wiring issue on the boat. We also resolved a screen brightness issue with the Elite unit. I got a chance to meet a fellow TFFer, too. Thanks Dave!!


I approve of this message.
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13590591 06/11/20 01:29 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,577
B
bronco71 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,577
thumb


1999 Triton TX21/225 Mercury Optimax
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13590633 06/11/20 01:59 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
Take a look at the power cord connection to your boat inside the bow. ONLY TWO wires in the power cord should be connected - red & black - unless you have another Lowrance accessory such as a sidescan box to power up automatically when you turn that unit on, which uses the yellow wire to send a signal to the accessory. If any others are connected, cut them.

Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13590662 06/11/20 02:11 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,577
B
bronco71 Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,577
There used to be 12/24v at the bow to the trolling motor, when the shop installed the 24v Ultrex they ran straight 24v to the trolling motor. We are guessing that the Lowrance was getting power from that wiring and so was hooked to 24v and was freaking out. He is going to check the voltage and make sure that it is connected to 12v. Luckily the unit is fine.


1999 Triton TX21/225 Mercury Optimax
Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: lakeforkfisherman] #13590755 06/11/20 03:26 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,996
Wiring a graph to a TM battery usually asks for trouble with "dirty" power (noise caused by the digital pulse modulation that controls the speed of the trolling motor, along with spikes and resonance from the TM itself). If you do it, make sure you get power from the battery that has the negative for the TM attached to it - never the second battery of a 24V system.

Re: HDS 7 won’t power up properly? [Re: Flippin-Out] #13590861 06/11/20 10:24 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
lakeforkfisherman Online Happy OP
Elliptical Mechanic
OP Online Happy
Elliptical Mechanic
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 10,706
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Wiring a graph to a TM battery usually asks for trouble with "dirty" power (noise caused by the digital pulse modulation that controls the speed of the trolling motor, along with spikes and resonance from the TM itself). If you do it, make sure you get power from the battery that has the negative for the TM attached to it - never the second battery of a 24V system.

Good info. Thank you.


I approve of this message.
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3