Print Thread
My rod breaks and I do not know why #13570684 05/25/20 02:56 PM
H
haleywp Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
First let me say I am not an expert on rods and the material they are built out of. I have been fishing from the time I was a young boy and am now almost 68 years old. I have belonged to bass clubs and fished tournaments. I have built a few custom rods and fished with many store-bought rods. There is a very good website if you would like to learn about rod building, ask questions, or read good info about rod building. It is rodbuilding.org.

A rod has ratings listed on the rod. This is similar to an industrial crane that has a load chart for the specific crane to be used. If you exceed the load chart you are at risk of structural damage and/or turning the crane over. A rod list Action (Fast, Mod Fast, Ex-Fast and so on) and Weight (Heavy, Mag Heavy, Light, Ultra-Light and so on). It also lists a Lure Weight (1/4-3/4 oz, ¼-1 oz, so on) and Line Weight (4-10 lb., 10-17 lb., and so on). These ranges are similar to the crane rating.