texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
ChazMcGavin, Southern Wind, jaggiemaggie, Yooperdan, chrisc795
113789 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 97,140
hopalong 89,887
Pilothawk 80,218
John175☮ 77,777
JDavis7873 67,400
Bigbob_FTW 67,239
Derek 🐝 64,956
Mark Perry 60,745
Tritonman 58,987
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics780,825
Posts9,908,251
Members113,789
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Lowrance point-1 puck #13569748 05/24/20 04:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 157
S
SAdoc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 157
I’ve got a Lowrance Elite Ti at the console (center console boat) and recently added a TI2 up front. I also have Garmin Livescope up front and basically just use the TI2 for mapping and saving waypoints.

It drives me nuts watching the map spin around and having to watch the shoreline to confirm position when I’m sitting on a waypoint.

Will adding a Point-1 puck solve the issue? If you’ve added one, did you install on the transom or console?The console would be easier since I already have an NMEA connector there.
Any tricks/tips on the install?

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: SAdoc] #13569813 05/24/20 05:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
When you save waypoints on a unit, the antenna is the reference point, not the display unit or the transducer. So, if you like to mark waypoints on the front unit based on what you see at the front unit with the most accuracy, then you want the antenna to be horizontally close to the transducer you're using. (How high doesn't really matter.) If the front unit receives a good GPS signal now, you could select the internal GPS antenna (if the TI units have that option as the HDS units do). That would keep the "is the spot where you think you are" problem at bay.

What actually stops the spinning map issue is the magnetic heading sensor that is a separate function of the Point-1. On HDS units, I can select the internal GPS antenna for a unit while selecting the Point-1 accessory for magnetic heading. If TI units have those two separate settings, you can mount the Point-1 where you wish. If it does not have those two separate settings, and it's Point-1 all or nothing, then it needs to be close to over the transducer for the best accuracy.

If a Point-1 is at the console, it's not too useful for waypoint (GPS map location) accuracy as the transducers are often at one end of the boat or the other. It will help resolve the map-spin via magnetic sensor (not GPS antenna), and sensor location doesn't matter for that.

Last edited by Flippin-Out; 05/24/20 05:27 PM.
Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: SAdoc] #13571824 05/26/20 05:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 157
S
SAdoc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 157
Thanks for the input.

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: SAdoc] #13579680 06/02/20 03:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,573
M
Mo Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,573
is there a setting that makes the map always put North on top on your unit ? I hate the map that spins. This setting does make travelling
south counter intuitive . You need to steer right to approach way points on the left. smile


good luck

Mo

Last edited by Mo; 06/02/20 03:35 PM.


MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: Mo] #13580014 06/02/20 07:45 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by Mo
is there a setting that makes the map always put North on top on your unit ? I hate the map that spins. This setting does make travelling
south counter intuitive . You need to steer right to approach way points on the left. smile


good luck

Mo

Does anyone EVER look at that book that comes in the box with MFDs (mutifunction displays)? Or press a few buttons to explore? Under Chart Options, there is an entry for orientation. If you can deal with "North Up" that's where you set that choice.

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: SAdoc] #13580537 06/03/20 03:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,914
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,914
North up sucks, buy a point 1 and set it for heading/coarse up and it will work like a dream.



And NO, nobody reads the instruction manuals!

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: grout-scout] #13580768 06/03/20 01:21 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by grout-scout
North up sucks, buy a point 1 and set it for heading/coarse up and it will work like a dream.



And NO, nobody reads the instruction manuals!

I don't count? LOL..... I've always wanted to "be special" roflmao

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: SAdoc] #13580805 06/03/20 01:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 848
Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 848
I love North-Up BTW. I can't stand when the map moves, but I do understand the ease to figure out left & right when you are using heading up. Old-School, I just like North Up... smile


Rob Jasper
Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: SAdoc] #13580878 06/03/20 02:35 PM
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,573
M
Mo Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
M
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 13,573
Originally Posted by SAdoc
I’ve got a Lowrance Elite Ti at the console (center console boat) and recently added a TI2 up front. I also have Garmin Livescope up front and basically just use the TI2 for mapping and saving waypoints.

It drives me nuts watching the map spin around and having to watch the shoreline to confirm position when I’m sitting on a waypoint.

Will adding a Point-1 puck solve the issue? If you’ve added one, did you install on the transom or console?The console would be easier since I already have an NMEA connector there.
Any tricks/tips on the install?


Just realized I did not address your question, I am not the expert , but I don't think adding an antenna will help you, You need to configure as
north up on the chart. I do have point one on my transom , because I wanted to be able to mark things I was seeing under the back of the
boat more accurately . Using the internal antenna on my console unit , waypoints are 10 ft off.

good luck

Mo



MY BACKYARD , 20,000 ACRES , NO MOWING smile
Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff] #13581322 06/03/20 07:27 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 9,340
C
cellis Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
C
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 9,340
Originally Posted by Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff
I love North-Up BTW. I can't stand when the map moves ... . smile

Agreed

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: Flippin-Out] #13582327 06/04/20 12:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,914
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,914
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Originally Posted by grout-scout
North up sucks, buy a point 1 and set it for heading/coarse up and it will work like a dream.



And NO, nobody reads the instruction manuals!

I don't count? LOL..... I've always wanted to "be special" roflmao




Ok, 2 of us non-prostaffers have read it. hammer

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff] #13582332 06/04/20 12:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,914
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,914
Originally Posted by Rob Jasper Lowrance Pro-Staff
I love North-Up BTW. I can't stand when the map moves, but I do understand the ease to figure out left & right when you are using heading up. Old-School, I just like North Up... smile



It was hell for me trying to use North up and then the map would start spinning from not having a heading sensor. I guess I haven’t tried North up after adding my point1, maybe it’s better that way. I used to get all kinds of spun around offshore without a point1, best money ever spent!

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: grout-scout] #13582349 06/04/20 01:09 PM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
F
Flippin-Out Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 3,934
Originally Posted by grout-scout
Originally Posted by Flippin-Out
Originally Posted by grout-scout
North up sucks, buy a point 1 and set it for heading/coarse up and it will work like a dream.



And NO, nobody reads the instruction manuals!

I don't count? LOL..... I've always wanted to "be special" roflmao




Ok, 2 of us non-prostaffers have read it. hammer

I also try the "what's this do?" approach to buttons/selections when sitting with a unit attached to a battery out of the boat. I call it "quality time" with my unit. When I get a new one, I try to go through every single option in the settings tree. I tinker with every choice for every setting, if it's not something I've seen before. It's also important to try them in the boat when connected to the networks. That's the only way some of what matters will show up.

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: SAdoc] #13587934 06/09/20 01:03 AM
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 157
S
SAdoc Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jan 2019
Posts: 157
The point-1 arrived today. My boat is an 18.5 fy Ranger aluminum center console.
I had planned to install in on top of the console, but the I-Pilot sensor is mounted there. From the brief reading I did online the I-pilot sensor Is magnetic, so I assume that option is out.
There’s not a great place at the back- I don’t want it to be stepped on/ in the way and Ranger fills both sides with foam. I don’t want to be top close to the outboard.
The pamphlet that came with it was pretty skimpy and the diagram recommended against mounting at the transom. How far would it need to be from the trolling motor to avoid interference?
Where did you guys mount yours? Does it need to be midline?

Re: Lowrance point-1 puck [Re: SAdoc] #13588038 06/09/20 02:41 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,914
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,914
Get a cheap compass and move it around your potential mounting locations, if the needle moves, don’t mount the point1 there. If you’re going to use it for a GPS receiver, it’s best close to your transducer. If you’re just using the heading sensor feature, stick it anywheres. (That the needle didn’t bounce at)

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3