Print Thread
8-9 Wt Combo for Bass and Plastics #13566152 05/21/20 01:33 PM
H
hadite81 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Can you throw a Texas rigged weightless worm set up with this size combo, or will it be too heavy on the bait end?
Have a chance to pick up a rod/reel 8-9 wt for a decent deal, but wondering if I need heavier for casting plastics.
(New to FF)

Re: 8-9 Wt Combo for Bass and Plastics [Re: hadite81] #13566281 05/21/20 03:11 PM
jrod88 Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
I’m sure you could, with big, open loops, but I’d be concerned about the worm ripping or flying off during false casting since they aren’t tied. I have no experience fly casting plastics other than squirmy wormy flies on 3/5/6 weight rods.

Re: 8-9 Wt Combo for Bass and Plastics [Re: hadite81] #13566335 05/21/20 03:58 PM
R
RexW Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
R
An 8/9 wt can cast an unweighted plastic worm. But a standard size lead weight in front of the worm, per a standard Texas rig, will cause problems. I would not attempt to cast a standard Texas rig using a lead weight with any fly rod. There are better rod choices for that fishing technique.

If you want to fish plastic worms with a fly rod think along the lines of finesse style techniques. However, even with an 8 wt, I'd stick with the medium size plastic worms, the magnum sizes will be an issue to cast.

Now the biggest problem fishing plastic baits has already been mentioned. It is a challenge to cast them without ripping them off the hooks. Some folks will super glue the worm to the hook and it works, but it slows down bait changes. You will go through a lot of plastic worms using a fly rod until you learn how to modify your casting technique.