texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Johnny Nguyen, noved, howaboutabooby, Ace0117, JDP44
112803 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 94,500
hopalong 86,476
Pilothawk 79,688
John175☮ 77,133
JDavis7873 67,398
Derek 🐝 64,213
Bigbob_FTW 64,035
Mark Perry 59,717
Tritonman 58,895
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics778,900
Posts9,823,465
Members112,803
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance hds black dots #13564371 05/20/20 12:58 AM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 196
S
sketch Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 196
Was out on the lake today and noticed one of my bow units had 2 black dots on the screen plus a few black lines at the top of the screen. On the load up screen they are not present but pop up later. Any ideas? Since its the only unit on my trolling motor transducer, and none of the others are having issues, I was thinking transducer issue. Thanks for any ideas [Linked Image]

Re: Lowrance hds black dots [Re: sketch] #13564610 05/20/20 05:42 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,966
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,966
I'm afraid my inclination is to say the transducer isn't causing the display defect. It appears that you have a map screen selected. As a diagnosis step to answer your own question, power the unit up, observe the same issue, then disconnect the sonar cable from the back of the failing unit. If the screen defect still exists, the transducer isn't causing it. I don't believe that it is, but this test would confirm it.

Second test: Does this happen if the network cable is disconnected? (If so, this excludes any networked mapping as the issue.)

Third test: Do you have a map card in the unit? If you do, remove it and power cycle the unit to see if the defect still exists. (You could have a map card read failure.)

Fourth test: Does this still happen if the trolling motor breaker is turned off? (This will exclude interference from the trolling motor.)

Re: Lowrance hds black dots [Re: sketch] #13564696 05/20/20 11:44 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 12,383
T Bird Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 12,383
I predict Map Card fail.


[Linked Image]
Alumni 1985-1989

Okie by birth, Texan by choice.
Re: Lowrance hds black dots [Re: sketch] #13564710 05/20/20 11:56 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,662
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,662
After you try all the other suggestions, try turning off the screen overlays. I doubt it’s associated, but I’ve never read/seen a post like this before, very odd indeed.

Re: Lowrance hds black dots [Re: sketch] #13564934 05/20/20 02:45 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 196
S
sketch Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 196
Update: disconnected the unit and connected the cables to one of my detachable units. No issues. Therefore Im guessing it is the unit and not transducer. No map card in it. Still does it with network cable disconnected and trolling motor breaker off. Noticed this morning that the black spots are not present at the HDS initial power up screen, but are now visible on the accept page. They are also present on sonar screen. So I'm guessing it is now a screen issue. Time to get to googling

Re: Lowrance hds black dots [Re: sketch] #13565919 05/21/20 04:33 AM
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,966
F
Flippin-Out Online Content
Extreme Angler
Online Content
Extreme Angler
F
Joined: Feb 2015
Posts: 2,966
It sounds as though you covered all the bases I had suggested, and none of those appear to have had any influence, so it seems you are down to "bad unit".
Try a soft reset next. Save your waypoints (even if they are also on another unit), and try a full factory reset as a hail mary before you decide it has to go for a trip to Oklahoma.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3