Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Pond fishing legality? #13559681 05/16/20 02:39 AM
F
Fishing Punk Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
F
So i found a pond in Arlington that has no signs prohibiting fishing. It doesn't appear to be on anyone's property. I've been fishing it for around 6 months, occasionally running into other people fishing. Within the last month, a woman that lives across the street from the pond has threatened to call the cops on me. No one fishes it any more. I've pushed my luck and kept fishing hoping she is just bluffing because she doesn't like strangers in her neighborhood, but i have a tough time enjoying my time there thinking i might deal with the lawman.

My question is... there are no signs. There is no gate. The land isn't tended by anyone. It doesn't appear to be on anyone's property, and i can assure it isn't her's.

What risk, if any, am i running by fishing this pond within walking distance with an awesome bass bite?

I'm just wanting to find out if she's got ground to stand on or if she's one of the folks that us fishermen find from time to time.

Re: Pond fishing legality? [Re: Fishing Punk] #13559698 05/16/20 03:03 AM
ssmith Offline
TFF Celebrity
TFF Celebrity
just because there are no signs an no gate doesn't mean its public property you could always go to the city offices an find out if its public or private that could save a big headache later if its private an you don't have permission you are trespassing.

Re: Pond fishing legality? [Re: ssmith] #13559721 05/16/20 03:35 AM
F
Fishing Punk Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
F
Good call.

Re: Pond fishing legality? [Re: Fishing Punk] #13559747 05/16/20 04:10 AM
O
Osbornfishing Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
O