texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
cbatman, PuzzledOaks, BassPontoon, Stash2319, 68wicked
113938 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 97,714
hopalong 90,703
Pilothawk 80,364
John175☮ 77,777
Bigbob_FTW 67,804
JDavis7873 67,400
Derek 🐝 65,195
Mark Perry 60,985
Tritonman 59,004
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics782,728
Posts9,935,401
Members113,938
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Adding Thru Hull to Helix 12 Networked #13547938 05/06/20 10:21 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 472
K
Kegger Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
K
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 472
I recently purchased a boat that has 3 HB units networked, but it does not have a thru hull transducer attached. What parts or pieces do I need to add for it to work. Here is my current set up

Console
Helix 12 HW MSI GPS Gen2
Helix 10 DI GPS

Bow
Helix 12 Chirp SI GPS

Like I said I want to add a thru hull transducer for 2D when running. My old boat I installed a splitter on a HB 598 SI and had a dead mans switch for the 2. Do I use a similar switch or can it work automatically?

Any help is appreciated!

Best
Ken


Living the life on Lake Livingston
Re: Adding Thru Hull to Helix 12 Networked [Re: Kegger] #13547971 05/06/20 10:53 PM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,672
W
Wayne P. Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,672
To be a G2N with HW, that would be the special run 2019/2020 HW SI Promo unit and not the original G2N of 2017/2018 vintage. The SHOOT-THRU for it is XP 9 HW. The current Y cable is 9 M SIDB Y.

There no transducer switch that works with MEGA units. AND there is no "automatic" and never has been. The Y cable disconnects the 2D piezo in the SI transducer (no wires) and connects the added shoot-thru in its place (wires). NOTHING changes except the physical location of the 2D piezo.


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N, 1198c SI, Helix 7 CHIRP MEGA SI GPS G3,
Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI, MEGA 360, RC-1
Re: Adding Thru Hull to Helix 12 Networked [Re: Wayne P.] #13548121 05/07/20 01:23 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 472
K
Kegger Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
K
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 472
I am a little confused, is it not possible?


Living the life on Lake Livingston
Re: Adding Thru Hull to Helix 12 Networked [Re: Kegger] #13548376 05/07/20 11:19 AM
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,672
W
Wayne P. Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
W
Joined: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,672
Originally Posted by Kegger
I am a little confused, is it not possible?


Use the 9 M SIDB Y cable to connect the SI transducer and shoot-thru transducer to the G2N Helix. NO switch is available to do what you have done=doesn't exist=not possible.


Helix 12 CHIRP MEGA SI+ GPS G3N, 1198c SI, Helix 7 CHIRP MEGA SI GPS G3,
Helix 10 MEGA DI+ GPS G3N, SOLIX 12 SI, MEGA 360, RC-1
Re: Adding Thru Hull to Helix 12 Networked [Re: Wayne P.] #13548914 05/07/20 05:29 PM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 472
K
Kegger Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
K
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 472
Thanks Wayne


Living the life on Lake Livingston
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

Moderated by  Duck_Hunter 


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3