Print Thread
Line Types #13532274 04/24/20 03:41 AM
S
Super8mm Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
S
I am looking to re-line my 2 fly reels and at looking at the line I see floating and just flyline.

I would like one reels to let the line sink and the other with floating. when I look at I think all of them they are weight-forward even the floating.

What is the difference??

Thanks

I am proud of our troops
Re: Line Types [Re: Super8mm] #13532291 04/24/20 03:57 AM
M
McKinneyLonghorn Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
M
The most common fly line out there is the weight forward floating line. I would bet it is what is on 90+% of all fly reels. The other three main types of lines are sink tips, intermediate and full sink fly lines. I am far from an expert and I am sure others can add more information, but here is a general rundown:

Sink tips are exactly what they sound like. The last 8-20 or so feet of the line will sink (4-8 inches per second) but the remainder is a floating line. I like these lines for fishing rivers. They work very well for throwing big streamers like gamechangers and some of the big Kelly Galloup streamers that you want to fish sub surface but don't have any weight added. The line allows the fly to get down but still be pretty much neutrally buoyant so it acts more realistic, as opposed to something like a Clouser minnow which acts like a jig and sinks when not retrieved. I use an Orvis Bank Shot Sink Tip for throwing big streamers and have a lot of luck.

Intermediate fly lines and full sink fly lines both are sinking lines, the main difference is the intermediate line sinks very slowly (1-2 inches per second) while the full sink line sinks much quicker (6+ inches per second). I have no experience with either of these lines but I know a lot of people who fish the surf use intermediate lines to get the fly down below the surface of the waves, while full sink lines are popular with people fishing lakes when they need to get down deep.