texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
D4r4, JPClare Eng., Reely Wading 4 Fish, KMG Ranch, Cade1754
112339 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 93,415
hopalong 85,053
Pilothawk 79,513
John175☮ 76,319
JDavis7873 67,398
Derek 🐝 63,946
Bigbob_FTW 63,043
Mark Perry 59,093
Tritonman 58,866
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums62
Topics774,347
Posts9,760,028
Members112,339
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
GMC Sierra instrument failure-help #13428813 02/06/20 02:26 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 567
W
wingnut Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
W
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 567
I have a 2005 GMC Sierra that has had sudden total instrument panel failure, like a blown fuse or something. The dealer replaced the entire instrument panel under warranty many years ago and it's been fine until now. It runs and drives great, just don't know how much fuel I have or how fast I'm going. I checked a 10 amp fuse labeled 'Instruments' but it's OK. Do any of you know of anything else that might cause this? thanks

Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: wingnut] #13429045 02/06/20 11:57 AM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,735
B
BillS2006 Online Content
TFF Team Angler
Online Content
TFF Team Angler
B
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,735
There is a ground wire under the hood that has an issue with the terminal breaking off the wire. That COULD be your problem. Do a search on U-Tube for more information.


The United States used to be "One Nation Under God". What happened?
Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: wingnut] #13429168 02/06/20 02:03 PM
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 11,699
Cast Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 11,699


Cast


[Linked Image]

I have a short attention spa
Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: wingnut] #13431868 02/08/20 03:31 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 567
W
wingnut Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
W
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 567
Bill and Cast, Thanks for that info. Will check that out.

George

Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: wingnut] #13432270 02/09/20 12:30 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,688
GTrigg Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,688
GMC 2003 to 2005 pickups had a recall for the cluster panel. I had a 2005 and lost all of the gauges, including the speedometer a few years ago. Took it to get fixed and was told about the recall, but was told it had expired. Was going to cost $500 to get it replaced, so I came back home and did some research.

You can get a rebuilt cluster panel online for less than $100, but I'm not a mechanic so didn't have a clue to install it myself.

Was told to do a search on Criagslist and found a guy that replaced the cluster panel for around $200. Wound up trading in the truck, so never got around to having it fixed. I drove it a couple of years with an old cell phone affixed to the dash with a GPS app for a speedometer.


[Linked Image]



Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: wingnut] #13433282 02/10/20 01:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 567
W
wingnut Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
W
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 567
Thanks GTrigg. I like how you did the cell phone GPS because I planned on using my hand held Garmin for a speedometer if I can't fix it.

Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: wingnut] #13445246 02/20/20 12:01 PM
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,423
brent1 Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,423
If cluster needs repair.Set parking brake, put in nuetral,lower sterring wheel,pop of dash bezel,remove four 7 or 8 mm bolts on gauge cluster, undo gauge wiring quick connect.

Mail in to repair shop. Hundreds of these places rebuild these for $79 and ship back. I just had mine done and added a new overlay with transmission temp gauge. The sensor is already installed so no extra work for that . Plug and play. Truck will drive without cluster installed. Takes less than 5 minutes to remove and install.


Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: brent1] #13456083 03/01/20 02:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 567
W
wingnut Offline OP
Pro Angler
OP Offline
Pro Angler
W
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 567
Thank you Brent. That’s some good information!

Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: wingnut] #13472290 03/15/20 01:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 855
B
Bassdeer Online Content
Pro Angler
Online Content
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 855
I have a 2005 GMC 2500 and had two gauges go out. Found a guy on ebay in Minnesota that rebuild it for $50. Took out the whole panel and shipped it to him, he redid all the gauges and shipped it back. your problem sounds like a bad wire.

Re: GMC Sierra instrument failure-help [Re: wingnut] #13506243 04/07/20 11:07 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,241
B
Bullet[BS] Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
B
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,241
Dorman sells a replacement instrument cluster that is plug & play. I put one in my sons Suburban worked great. Many options available I would put your vin in and check the notes carefully to ensure you get the right one.

Cluster

Last edited by Bullet[BS]; 04/07/20 11:07 AM.

When in doubt SET THE HOOK!
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3