texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Cpat, Binky, RbobD, FishBonker1014, Vexas2021
115406 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 102,519
hopalong 97,164
Pilothawk 80,888
John175☮ 79,175
Bigbob_FTW 73,998
JDavis7873 67,402
Derek 🐝 66,660
Mark Perry 62,892
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,149,701
Posts15,717,937
Members140,406
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Ulterra or Livescope #13408659 01/18/20 05:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 7
M
Mstone06 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
M
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 7
I’m wanting to upgrade my electronics on my zx190 and don’t exactly know what to get. I’m on a budget and can only get one. I was thinking if I got a trolling motor then I’d get the Ulterra to help with unloading the boat. Does anybody use their Ulterra to unload their boat? There’s a video that says u have to leave the remote near the boat or else it will disconnect and drift. The livescope seems to be really awesome, but I’ve heard the livescope doesn’t exactly help with bass fishing. I’ve been told to go with a trolling motor with spot lock and don’t waste my money on livescope for bass fishing. I just caught a 7.5 out of the river Chanel on LOP and thought it’d be good to use livescope when scanning the river. Anyone have thoughts that might help me decide on an Ulterra or Livescope?

Moritz Chevrolet - 9101 Camp Bowie W Blvd, Fort Worth, TX - Monte Coon (817) 696-2003
Re: Ulterra or Livescope [Re: Mstone06] #13408668 01/18/20 05:20 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 97,164
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 97,164
just upgraded graphs and ordered the garmin tm.

livescope is more crappie fishermen type use.

have fished in a boat with the ulterra and it rocks, just put it on spot lock when you launch and you should be good till the remote is back in range.


" Hop, set the hook"!

TexDawg 99,999

lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Ulterra or Livescope [Re: Mstone06] #13408669 01/18/20 05:22 PM
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 97,164
hopalong Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Online Content
Pumpkin Head
Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 97,164
if you already have garmins I would go with the garmin tm, lots of good features and
comes with built in si/di/hd ducer on it


" Hop, set the hook"!

TexDawg 99,999

lake fork FISHERMANS COVE MARINA/reservations - 903 474 7479
Re: Ulterra or Livescope [Re: Mstone06] #13408920 01/18/20 11:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 758
M
Mark Wendler Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
M
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 758
Have an Ulterra and launch by myself all the time. Like hopalong said, once you deploy, put it on spot lock and it will be just fine until you get back in range with the remote.



Bass Club of Fort Worth

"The answer to every problem in life is to go fishing. The bigger the problem, the longer the trip"
Re: Ulterra or Livescope [Re: Mstone06] #13408986 01/19/20 01:11 AM
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 4,133
B
Bobby Milam Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
B
Joined: Jul 2014
Posts: 4,133
Launch solo all the time and it works fine when it gets back in range and that range is pretty far. Spotlock won't turn off until you tell it to turn off. Word of warning. Make sure you get into the habit of verifying that you remembered to turn on the Ulterra at the unit. Can't turn it on from the remote and then the boat will float away.

Re: Ulterra or Livescope [Re: Mstone06] #13408994 01/19/20 01:28 AM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 749
B
Bill Durham Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
B
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 749
Heard Greg Hackney speak today at Fun N Sun and he said that LIvescope was a total game changer for him. Said that he was able to see schools of fish that he had no clue were there. Just tossing that out.

BD

Re: Ulterra or Livescope [Re: Mstone06] #13409024 01/19/20 02:20 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 13,653
Cameron Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 13,653
Spotlock trolling motor would be my first upgrade. If I strictly bass fished I would probably scrap livescope and run 360 imaging.

Re: Ulterra or Livescope [Re: Mstone06] #13409025 01/19/20 02:24 AM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 127
S
stratoliner92 Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
S
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 127
I had an Ulterra for around a year, first 6mos was great. Then trim module went out, after that control board went out about a month later trim module again. I told Minn Kota enough and they sent me an Ultrex at my request. Not saying it's normal just my experience and from reviews most don't have issues. Biggest thing I didn't like when it did work properly was when fishing around lots of submerged timber the slower steering was a hassle bass fishing. Spot lock is great to have and I wouldn't be without now. I run Humminbird graphs and with everything networked it's nice. Doesn't mean I still don't want Livescope up front grin grin


Fishing Gypsy with Team Dropshot
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3