texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Addi, Dogfish2020, CatDaddy101, sktrbass, S Palmer
115354 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 102,313
hopalong 96,958
Pilothawk 80,875
Bigbob_FTW 73,802
JDavis7873ฎ 67,402
Mark Perry 62,837
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics1,148,914
Posts15,707,145
Members140,354
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
trailer hubs #13396901 01/08/20 04:55 PM
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 154
H
hawkeye442 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Mar 2012
Posts: 154
Hey Guys, Y'all have always been a wealth of info anytime I've asked a question..

Well.. Here is another one..

I have a 2012 EZ-LOADER dual axle trailer with brakes that my 04' zx225 came with used.. I'm trying to find out where I can buy replacement hubs, even the EZ loader website isn't much help, because I'm not sure of the axle limits, I think it's 2200 lbs, if it's a Gross weight of 4400, is that right? I have no idea of spindle size and such, plus it seems like they sell all of their hubs with the spindle either weld-on or torsion style.. I just need the pre-greased pre set hubs, or even just the bearings, but I don't know the size..

another question, I have 3/4 ton Ram truck, do I even need the brakes on the trailer? I had one set of pads come apart the other day while towing,(no idea why), and they actually punctured my tire.. If I really don't need them, then I will disable the entire system.

I know its alot of questions, but you guys have alot of answers.

Thanks In Advance...

Re: trailer hubs [Re: hawkeye442] #13397009 01/08/20 06:31 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,131
T Bird Online Content
TFF Guru
Online Content
TFF Guru
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 16,131
Call EZ Loader and give them your trailer serial number. They've always been very helpful to me.

Yes you need the brakes.


[Linked Image]

USAF "Thunderbirds" Alumni 1985-1989

Okie by birth, Texan by choice.
Re: trailer hubs [Re: hawkeye442] #13397020 01/08/20 06:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 10,816
S
Stump jumper Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
S
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 10,816
You might try calling UFP. They were pretty helpful when I called about the frozen plugs on mine. There should be some numbers on the hub. Don't bother calling Etrailer, They might be good with basic stuff. As far as brakes you do not need them until you get in a wreck. I had no problem stopping my 5000+ bay with my Tundra but i fixed my brakes by replacing the actuator and brake line. I like for things to work right. I think brakes are required in Tx if the total trailer weight is 50%=> vehicle weight. Might want to look it up. If something happens and you are not legal you will become someone's lawyer's BFF.


2200 Bay Champ/200 Mercury Optimax
2017 Tundra TSS 4x4 Crewmax 5.7L
Re: trailer hubs [Re: hawkeye442] #13412497 01/22/20 01:57 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 443
L
Len B 1 Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 443
Depending where you are located, Mcgills in Lewisville just replaced my axles on trailer and put new style hubs on mine. They are a grease hubs that turns to oil bath after warm up donโ€™t have to mess with them for 5yrs. Forget name pamphlet in truck. Give them a call sure they can help.

Re: trailer hubs [Re: hawkeye442] #13413314 01/22/20 11:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,413
M
me and the boys Offline
Extreme Angler
Offline
Extreme Angler
M
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,413
Where r u

Re: trailer hubs [Re: hawkeye442] #13419572 01/29/20 12:18 AM
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 390
L
lurenthewind Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Feb 2017
Posts: 390
I think that in Texas if the GVW is over 4500 lbs, you have to have brakes on at least one axle.

I have hydraulic surge bakes on my Champion trailer and they work great and the trailer is a 1992 model.


Luck will beat skill any time you have enough of it!
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3