Print Thread
Toledo Bend in January - Info Needed! #13385947 12/29/19 10:40 AM
S
samscottfishing Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
S
(Side Note: If you read all of this, thank you for your time in doing so. You do not have to read it all. Just some background information and my history with the lake. If you provide helpful information, I appreciate it.)

Hello Fellow Bass Anglers,

I'm new to TFF, but I am not new to bass fishing. I've been able to cast a bait caster since I was 8 years old, fished all through high school, placed well in 3 high school state championships, fished in bass champs for a season, fished working man tourneys, currently competitively fishing for my college all over the nation, qualified and competed in the 2019 Bass Master College National Championship on Chickamauga, TN, and chasing the dream of going pro. That being said, I know when I could use some help or tips.

I've fished shallow and deep on Toledo. I've caught fish shallow in the grass of Housen and Indian Mounds, flipped docks and cypress trees and caught them, and I've caught them out deep on main lake points, ledges, suspended off bluff walls, and brush piles. However, I can not fill a limit, nor can I catch anything of size regardless of the large schools and marks I read on my graphs.

So every tournament I've fished on it, I have come up with a game plan and idea of where I think they should be or are, based on the weather, water temp, and time of year. I also watch for birds and bait. I almost always locate a group of fish in a certain area and figure out a pattern that will catch them. However, these fish tend to be of smaller size and/or short of being a keeper, even though, I am catching a ton of them.