texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Ken Berthelot, B@rryM, as86, JOJ, Dgoodenow91
111837 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 92,562
hopalong 83,104
Pilothawk 79,243
John175☮ 74,744
JDavis7873 67,397
Derek 🐝 63,517
Bigbob_FTW 61,603
Tritonman 58,823
Mark Perry 58,273
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums61
Topics768,047
Posts9,669,066
Members111,837
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Lowrance Help #13385392 12/28/19 10:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
L
lundy Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
Have a Gen 3 touch that when operating sonar reads and works for a while then screen freezes up. I then have to re start and works for for a while then stops again. Electronics person at Bass pro said it was my transducer so I spent 150 On new one installed it and Have the same results. Any ideas?
Or where is a good repair shop ? Any suggestions appreciated!
((Ps I’m sure some will say buy a Garmin or hummingbird But can’t afford at this time))

Bass Fishing Ad
Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13385401 12/28/19 11:01 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 16,158
Donald Harper Offline
TFF Guru
Offline
TFF Guru
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 16,158
Shut Up and Fish will trouble shoot it for you. Make an appointment. He will then advise you on what may have to be done to send it back to the factory. Do not skip the trouble shooting phase.


Each person you work with holds some promise to your future success.
www.eletewater.com - Staying Hydrated
www.lakeoviachic.com - Booking Mexico Trips
20 Hot Spot Mapping - GPS Contour Chips - Custom Spinner Baits - Jigs -Spooks
Pure Extracts - Minnow-Night Crawler-Crayfish-Craylic


Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13385484 12/29/19 12:09 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,316
G
grout-scout Online Content
TFF Celebrity
Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 8,316
Did you make sure you have the correct transducer selected in the sonar setup/installation menu?

Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13385491 12/29/19 12:14 AM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 576
JBranham Offline
Pro Angler
Offline
Pro Angler
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 576
Is your unit up to date on software?

Also, you can try a hard reset but make sure you have your settings and weigh point data saved first because it will wipe all of that out.

Last edited by JBranham; 12/29/19 12:14 AM.
Re: Lowrance Help [Re: grout-scout] #13385510 12/29/19 12:28 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
L
lundy Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
Yes I made sure of that - thanks

Re: Lowrance Help [Re: JBranham] #13385511 12/29/19 12:29 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
L
lundy Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
yes software up to date- thanks

Re: Lowrance Help [Re: Donald Harper] #13385513 12/29/19 12:31 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
L
lundy Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
Ok thanks! Appreciate the information

Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13385669 12/29/19 02:17 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 322
S
Steve PIII Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
S
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 322
The latest software update for the Gen3's has caused similar problems for some people. You can do a Google search and see if maybe that's the problem you are having. I have an earlier software update on mine, not the 18—something.


Real trucks don't need spark plugs.
Re: Lowrance Help [Re: Steve PIII] #13385785 12/29/19 03:19 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
L
lundy Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
Will do thanks Steve

Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13385992 12/29/19 12:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 108
H
hole drainer Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
H
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 108
Mines doing the exact same thing. I sent it to lowrance , they sent it back and now it’s not shutting off but the sonar will stop randomly and I have to go to the advanced screen and hit the start sonar button.

Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13386001 12/29/19 01:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 21,557
C
CCTX Offline
mapquest
Offline
mapquest
C
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 21,557
I have had a problem with some SD/microSD cards causing the unit to freeze intermittently (then having to restart)

If you haven't already, try a day of fishing without any SD/microSD cards in the fishfinder and see if it freezes.


[Linked Image]
Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13386110 12/29/19 02:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
L
lundy Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
Thanks for all the input! Hopefully can figure this out!

Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13386177 12/29/19 03:32 PM
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,135
R
rxkid2001 Offline
TFF Team Angler
Offline
TFF Team Angler
R
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,135
Sounds like my lowrance experience. I heard they won’t service the gen3 now.

Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13387335 12/30/19 03:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 271
Reel Addict Offline
Angler
Offline
Angler
Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 271
Go back to version 7.0 This should correct your issues. There is a link in this thread

http://www.bbcboards.net/showthread.php?t=1021799

Last edited by Reel Addict; 12/30/19 03:45 PM.




Re: Lowrance Help [Re: lundy] #13387880 12/31/19 01:46 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
L
lundy Offline OP
Angler
OP Offline
Angler
L
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 321
Thanks Addict!
Appreciate it

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3